Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel close to everything.

Posted Jan 14, 2017
The hotel is at the city center close to shops and restaurants. Walking distance to the Aquarium and Port of Genoa. Short walk to Piazza De Ferrari. The spiral staircase, looks one of its kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel in a great location.

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Our first time in Genoa and we found the city and the hotel very enjoyable. The Bristol is in an excellent location right across the bus stop from the airport and main train station. A ten min walk to the other station which we used to head to Cinqua Terra. Very nice local restaurants nearby. The breakfast buffet was extensive enough to satisfy us all. The hotel restaurant served a nice dinner one night. The staff was friendly and helpful. The oval main staircase is magnificent! I'd stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

excellent hotel in historic centre

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: very stylish, wonderful staircase, good breakfast,m lovely dinner, knowledgeable sommelier, courteous staff
Cons: nothing I can think of.
Location: historic centre, close to the waterfront, shopping in the immediate vicinity and beyond, museums, parks, historic buildings all nearby
stayed 4 nights, arrived much later than planned ( close to midnight) speedy , polite check-in, excellent hotel, very quiet most nights, good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect in every way.....

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: I enjoy "European" style hotels and this is certainly one.......large comfortable rooms with style and charm.....yet a modern and beautiful bathroom.
Cons: Couldn't think of a thing!
Location: Located on the main shopping street and just a block from the old center, it is between 2 of the hop on and off sightseeing bus. Near restaurants too
I am a travel agent and chose this hotel 31 years ago for myself when I took my 85 year old father to Genoa to see where his father grew up. It was perfect then and so I returned again now and found it perfect still. The staff, particularly Valentina, were most welcoming and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location / Nice Boutique Hotl

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Location and comfort and cleanliness of rooms.
Only about a 20 minute ride to and from the airport. Great location. Close to wonderful historical section of the city and the port area. Only a 15 minute walk to the train station. The hotel is lovely, very charming with marble and winding staircase. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The beds were comfortable. Staff was very helpful and spoke good English. The hotel offers a great buffet in the morning. Overall excellent value. Recommend booking in advance. Note: taxi riding is very expensive. We stayed at this hotel on our first and last night in Italy. There is an automatic fee once the taxi picks you up, even you're only going to Brignole train station. it cost us 10 euros to go about 0.5 miles. It was 6 euros when we got into the cab. From the hotel to the airport yesterday morning at 5:30 a.m. the driver charged us 38 euros. It was only about 25 euros from airport to hotel two weeks ago. So, take note of the surcharges when you get into a taxi and if there is no meter ask driver up front how much it will be to your destination. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from y

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Spacious environment and nice amour at room. Breakfast is wonderful. Staff are nice and friendly. The stairs of the hotel is the signature and worthwhile visiting even if not staying in the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Wonderful old hotel located in the city center.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: We liked the location, the old world ambience, and the great breakfasts.
Location: The Bristol Palace is located on Via XX Settembre, Genoa's main street, and is within walking distance to the attractions of the old city.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Bristol Palace. It is located in the heart of Genoa, within walking distances or an easy subway ride to the major attractions. The rooms are nice, very reminiscent of the grand hotels of yesteryear. The breakfast is excellent, perhaps the best of any we've experienced on our trip to Italy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Great location. Beautiful old hotel . A little worn around the edges .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Great location for waking around Genoa

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Bath had a shower screen with no seal at the bottom so each time we used the shower it leaks all over the floor, I can believe the staff did not know.
Great hotel, looking a bit tired and could do with updating g but still very good, slick valet parking system but did cost us 28 euro per night. Room was large with high ceilings , a nice bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Lanarkshire, Scotland

Good hotel, central location

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Nice clientele. Lovely ambiance at breakfast, good selection. Excellent housekeeping.
Cons: Abbreviated guide to the TV channels would be useful.
Location: Easy access on foot to all main attractions. Airport bus stops 5 mins from hotel - 6 euros. Loved Genoa. Good inexpensive wine, coffee and food.
Highly recommend. Booked classic double room for single use - was fairly quiet with minimum noise sounds from other rooms. Very comfortable bed with good quality bedlinen. Air conditioning, when used, also quiet. Walls and woodwork needing freshened up, but didn't spoil overall comfort. Probably work in progress as bathroom looked as if recently renovated with good quality sanitary ware, good fixed shower and moveable handshower. Staff at breakfast very helpful, and reception staff friendly and efficient. I didn't use the bar.