Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Lectrolink

Reflects the Faded Glory that is Genoa

Posted Jul 10, 2012 on Hotels
Hotel has nice big rooms with tall ceilings from the olden days, vintage elevator, etc. Front desk is friendly and helpful. But, some of the furniture in the room is falling apart, and the single bed that was brought in for my triple room was low quality with old springs and thin mattress. I like the old touches--it adds character, but they need to spend a bit of money to update. Location is decent with a pedestrian zone and big Mercato nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, England

Hotel Astoria in Genoa, Italy

Posted Jun 26, 2011 on Hotels
With a friendly and helpful staff, here you can picture yourself as one of the cast of Some Like It Hot - the lift is a dead ringer. Walking distance to city centre and much else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Europe Explorer

Genova Exploration

Posted Apr 17, 2011 on Orbitz
We took the trains, the metro, the Genova city tour bus, a taxi, and a water bus tour. The roads were very hilly and the city was very spread out which is why we decided to utilize every type of transportation they offered. Plus we only had one day to spend in the beautiful city and we all really wished we could have spent more time in the city. The hotel was great and the service fantastic. The only downside was that they allowed smoking in the hall ways.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

It was okay . . .

Posted Sep 7, 2010 on Hotels
The hotel was somewhat difficult to find, mainly because Italians don't believe in street signs that one can read from a car. Parking cost 15 euro per night in a garage several blocks away. The area is very noisy with construction that seemed to go on well into the night. The room was okay - there was no carpeting on the floor - the bath was fine and the bed comfortable. The elevator was a trip, something out of an old European movie.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

The end of 19th century charm

Posted Aug 2, 2010
Perfect location. Staff is very frendly and helpfull. Breakfast is very good. This is the only place we'll stay next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denmark

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2009 on Hotels
Pleasent and nice hotel with freindly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hilo, HI

A pleasant step back in time

Posted Jul 13, 2009
How you feel about this hotel depends on your taste. It is a 19th century building. If you like old buildings and antiques, you will enjoy the hotel. The antique lift is worth a visit. It is very convenient to Brignole train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Recommended place to stay

Posted Oct 3, 2008
Hotel is situated in historical building, the room I stayed in carried a signs of the age of hotel, but was very well maintained and kept clean by room service. Hotel is located very near to the shopping area and its just some 10-15 minutes walk from Genoa ancient port and other famous sights, so you do not need to rely on public transport or taxi and a walk is nice, although might be physically a bit challenging (generally hilly profile of Genoa).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ross from Ontario, Canada

character and service

Posted Jan 4, 2008
We've stayed at the Astoria twice. It's an old building with large rooms and antique furniture. Beautifully maintained and the staff are very helpful with enough English to get by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Fort McMurray

Would stay again.

Posted Sep 30, 2007
Good Hotel nicely located near downtown within walking distance of restaurants and train station. Small shower stall. Very good breakfast. Would stay again.