Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Expedia reservation not received, as claimed.Wrong

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: NOTHING, inferior staff
Cons: Tear it down, rebuild. It is an old conversion. Elevator does not stop at level floors. Had 5 steps down
Location: Location close to harbor. Pick a different hotel nearby
No room on arrival. Bad Communications. Staff lied, Expedia proved the info was sent. Hotel not doing the correct job. Made no note on my reservation, then sent me to a 2nd location at a hundred dollars higher rate. No space available for 2 days later. Then moved; had to pay cab fares and was not reimbursed for my extra expenses. Never book this DIRTY hotel. Rugs not cleaned for many years, Very black dirt on a red carpet. Terrible.
3 out of 5
by Amber

Great for the price but the location is a little u

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
We were passing through Genova for the night and this hotel seemed to be a good choice. The front desk person was fantastic and very helpful, same for the breakfast staff. The room was huge, a king bed and bunk beds with tons of floor space. The only complaint about the room - the shower curtain was super moldy and disgusting. The other thing that was not good was the location. It is at the commercial port and felt kind of seedy at night. We arrived at about 10pm and the area gave off a bad feel. I had to park the car in a lot a couple blocks away and felt eerie walking to the hotel at night. Otherwise it was great for just passing through.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value with position in Genoa

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
The perfect place to stay,.... position position position, everything is on your doorstep. Great value
1 out of 5
by Will from Provo, UT

Not what we thought

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
We had to book this hotel on short notice because of some travel complications we had. The neighborhood is close to the Piazza Principe Train Station and the tour bus stop, but is less than desirable. It is right next to a main highway and there are lots of sketchy people that loiter in the plaza out front. When you go in the hotel, it just smells old and decrepit. The desk attendants spoke minimal English. They gave us a room on the sixth floor, and the elevator is only big enough for 1 person and some luggage, and only goes to the 5th floor, so this wasn't ideal for my wife and I. Plus, just looking at the elevator made me scared, so we took the stairs instead and noticed the old, stained carpet all the way up the stair case. When we got to our room with a double bed, we found that it was actually just two twin beds pushed together, so there was a nice gap in the middle of the mattresses. The Wifi didn't reach the 6th floor, so we had no internet. Also, partway through our night, the circuit breaker tripped and we lost power in our room. We had to hike all the way down to the lobby and have them come up and reset the breaker. Lastly, we were told on the site that they had breakfast, but when we went down the lobby in the morning, there was nothing to be found. 1 star.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, customer service lacks

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Booked this hotel specifically for the free breakfast and the AC. The AC was not working when we got there. Barely slept through the first night due to the extremely hot room. Talked to staff the next morning and they said "the technician will be up in 10 minutes". We should have known better that there wasn't a technician on site, but waited for 1.5 hours anyways. Decided we couldn't wait around any longer so we went out and got on with our day. On our way out the front desk assured us it would be fixed when we got back. We arrived back at 10 pm, still no AC. By this time another staff member was at the desk. We asked him about the AC being fixed and he said technicians never work on weekends and it will be at least a few more days. He offered no compensation, not even a fan. When we asked if there was anything he could do for us, considering there were 4 of us in one room, paying far too much to have an uncomfortable sleep, he said no. He wasn't willing to be helpful at all. The breakfast "buffet" is ok IF you get there right at 8 am. Hardly any food gets put out at a time and it is very slow to get restocked. The proximity to the train station is wonderful, and good shopping is near by as well. Some very nice restaurants at the aquarium that is also in walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Close to the Rail station,

Posted Oct 16, 2014
The room was very clean the staff friendly, the food excellent and the hotel in good hubication
1 out of 5
by Married couple from Auatralia

One of the worst hotels I have ever used

Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels
Very poor standard of accommodation, even for the price. Minimal breakfast, filthy carpets, uncomfortable bed, poor service, no porter, no attendant in the dining room, elevator limited to one adult and luggage per trip. Noisy, ineffective airconditioning. Need I say more. We stayed here on the recommendation of friends who stayed here 2 years ago, but I am sorry to say that we will not be recommending this hotel to anybody.
1 out of 5
by disappointed from canada

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was extremely dirty, no glasses in the room ,air conditioner was not working, reception staff need customer service
1 out of 5
by x01877 from Italy

Disappointing Stay

Posted Jul 6, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was anything but 3 stars! One member of the staff was overbearing and argumentative. He yelled at my wife twice, once for asking to open the entrance door at 6am to walk the dog and a second time at checkout (although she did not understand his ramblings) to the extent that another male customer had to ask him not to yell at a woman. The room was dirty and had mold. The surrounding area was littered with garbage and graffiti. The only high point of the hotel is the 5 minute walk to the attractions. We have stayed at many hotels in Europe, and this was by far the worst. Would not recommend to a family or anyone with pets.
4 out of 5
by H Kibsella from Australia

Convenient location for cruising

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel was adequate. Carpets in poor condition and toilet seat was broken, but a very reasonable price...