Ratings based on 275 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Great location, right by the Genoa Piazza Principe train station and about 15 minutes from Porto Antico. Quaint, boutique style hotel with up-to-date technology (wifi, electric wood shutters). Hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. For the price especially, I would absolutely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Good value ans comfortable hotel in Genoa

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: The rooms, the friendly staff, and accessibility to its sister hotel next door
Cons: Nothing
Location: As mentioned the location is good for transport access, but less so for seeing Genoa
I had booked party of 12 from our Italian class for a trip Genoa. I tried to book all 12 into the 5 star Grand Hotel Savoia next door, but Expedia could only book 8 there so I booked the remaining 4 into the 4 star Continental next door. I stayed in the Continental, so cannot comment on the Grand Hotel savoia. The two are owned by the same company, are next door to one another and connected by an internal corridor. It is possible to use the facilities in both. We met up in the public areas of the Grand Hotel Savoia, and we took breakfast there on one day. The Continental is definitely the poor relation, and the public areas, breakfast room, and indeed breakfast were not as good as next door, but nevertheless very good, but on the other hand it was cheaper. The breakfast room becomes a trattoria in the evening whilst the breakfast room in the GHS becomes a more upmarket, and again, more expensive, restaurant. We had a meal in the tratorria one evening, and it was good and not expensive. Where the hotel excels is in the rooms which are spacious and equipped to a high specification. All the staff were friendly and helpful. It is well located for the station opposite and I guess for the cruise ships, but less accessible for the sights of Genoa, although all are walkable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very easy access from the train station.

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: The location. The staff is really friendly and helpful.
Cons: If it were me, I would move the name of the hotel higher so people can see it coming out from the train station or trim down the trees in front of it!
Location: We walked to town most of the time to check out the shops. Hotel will give you a map of where all the tourist sights to go to.
I like the location but the sign of the hotel is hidden by all the trees and tall bushes so we could not find it at first. Walked right pass it as was kind of behind us as we got to an intersection. Once we found it, it was easy enough to come back to.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room had a leak in the ceiling

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Good location near to walk all area
Was put in a room with a leak in the ceiling. They moved us to a sister hotel that had a nice room, but was tiny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leverett, MA

Just steps from the central train station

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Excellent location very close to the main train station, which is also a stop on the Hop On & Off tourist bus. Large room with three windows opening to the piazza nearby. Tea maker in the room. Breakfast was an extra charge, but worth it for those who like a hardy breakfast. Helpful staff.
Cons: I was very satifsfied with the Hotel Continental. My only complaint was that I had a difficult time with some WiFi connections.
Location: See above.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Exceeded expectation great weekend destination

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Excellent location close to old port, historic centre, shopping streets and the beautiful palaces to be found in via Garibald
Very good hotel in traditional stlyle. Booked room only. Bedrooms comfortable with modern bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities in room, safe etc. clients here can use facilities of sister hotel the Grand Savoia Which is next door and is 5 star. There is a nice bar and spa in this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

A great hotel with excellent condition & location

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Great location next to the P. Principe station.
Location: It's very close to the main attractions.
We had a free upgrade to an executive room, the hotel staff were very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Great hotel, walking distance to the old port. Good sites and restaurants within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Very close to train station and sites.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Historically interesting and calm,
Location: Close to train station and bus station, easy walk to port and all city historical sites.
Hotel is historically interesting. Breakfast selection very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Aug 9, 2016
We had a lovely stay at this hotel, Bernadette was the most helpful and pleasant of receptionists, nothing was too much trouble for her. We really enjoyed the breakfast that was available but the dinner menu did not live up to expectations. The hotel was ideally situated for travelling by train to the other towns, which we did most days, it was quite a walk though into town.