Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Great location - easy walking distance from Principe railway station in one direction, and from the old town in the other. Helpful, English-speaking staff. Bedding and towels changed every day. Generous cold buffet breakfast. Very reasonably priced. Highly recommended.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good location

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Breakfast for free and good, staff are nice but the hotel is old and the rooms are not clean
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Macquarie, Australia

Wonderfully kind and helpful staff

Posted Aug 17, 2014
The hotel is small and little wanting in regards to furnishings. The single bed was a hard old divan, the bar fridge was on the blink and you could hear everyone walking around on the next floor. On the plus side, this hotel was close to the major city sites and the staff were absolutely so helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Boutique hotel close to Genova's historic center

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: location, price, breakfast
Cons: no significant changes can be applied to the 400 years old building
Location: historical city center, harbour, aquarium, bus tours
Pros: Good location, affordable price, friendly staff, free WiFi, acceptable parking arrangement, clean rooms, AC can be turned on/off from the room, breakfast menu Cons: Noise from the street can be heard in the morning, rooms are pretty small,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tony from london

Very good central hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Staff gave excellent advice for a romantic dinner venue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central hotel with good breakfast

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Staff is very helpful, breakfast is good.
Location: It's worth a visit to a nearby church: San Filippo Neri, a hidden gem on Via Lomellini, a 3-minute walk from the hotel.
We really enjoyed our stay, the hotel is close to Via Garibaldi and walking distance to the harbour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BonBon from Calgary, Canada

Fantastic Location to Explore Genoa and Area!

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Wireless internet signal strength
Location: The seven-stop commuter funicular at the Piazza is well worth the trip up to see the view of Genoa. The train to Cinque Terre is very convenient.
My sister and I stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Helvetia in Genoa in the beginning of September 2013. The room was quite large and very clean. The wireless internet connection worked fairly well. The friendly staff directed us to a parking spot for our car that was very close and easy to get to. We were able to pull right up front of the hotel to drop our luggage off first. The staff also provided a map of the area with suggestions on where to eat and sites to see. They were very attentive and helpful. The hotel location is fantastic. Our room looked out over busy Piazza Della Nunziata but when you closed the window, it was still quite quiet. There are so many shops and restaurants nearby. A seven-stop commuter funicular begins at the Piazza and it is worth the trip up to see the view of Genoa. The hotel is situated amongst some very impressive landmarks and the architecture is gorgeous. We had decided to stay in Genoa so we could visit Cinque Terre but then we were sorry that we did not dedicate more time to exploring this really interesting and beautiful city. The Hotel Helvetia is a very good location to explore the city from. It is also very close to the train station. We really enjoyed the hotel and would highly recommend it. We wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by David from Devon UK

Good for students

Posted Jun 29, 2013
Pros: Good continental breakfast is provided. Clean & tidy. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Noisy, No Hotel parking. - Vallet paring nearby at fifteen euro/day
Location: The hotel is situated perfectly in the heart of Genova and very convenient for the town and attractions around the port.
Handy for the town but the lack of easy car parking was a problem. Great service and vey clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paolo from England, UK

Short stay at the Hotel Helvetia

Posted May 12, 2013
Pros: The helpfulness of the staff
Cons: The forniture in the room
Location: Although very central, is next to a part of the historic centre which is a little...rough!
The hotel is very clean and the staff are very helpful. However, some of the forniture is rather 'tired' and the location could be better
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Siobhan from Melbourne, Australia

A great location and fantastic staff!

Posted Jun 11, 2012
I would recommend this hotel to any traveller because it is in a great location, just around the corner from a Metro stop and that Metro stop is one stop from one of the major regional train stations (Genova P.P) so very handy for getting around and for visiting other coastal towns on day trips. It is also within walkiing distance of the main attractions including the main shopping streets, the aquarium and the port. I cannot say enough about the staff - they were incredibly helpful anyway but were particuarly helpful to me when I had my luggage stolen from a train. They made phone calls for me (because my Italian is fairly basic) and printed maps and train timetables so that I could go and pick it up from another town where the police had, thankfully, found it. The staff also spoke English well which was a huge relief during such a stressfull time. The wi-fi was free, the buffet breakfast was great and the room was spacious and very clean with satellite TV channels - I thought this hotel felt more like a four star hotel than a three star hotel and I really enjoyed staying there.