Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Cons: Would have been nice to have wifi in room,did not even work in lobby.
Nice hotel,good breakfast,disappointed by not having wifi in room and not working in lobby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2016 by Barbara, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review, we are very glad that you enjoy your stay here. I am sorry for the wifi not working in the lobby. We hope to have you here again as our guest as soon as possible!
5 out of 5
by Simon from Oslo

cheap, clean, good service

Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Hotels
cheap, clean, good service
3 out of 5
by Daniel from Buenos Aires

Nice location, close to the sea and with Parking

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Parking
Cons: Service
Arrived by 9PM and been helped by someone who certainly was doing something else and wanted to do our check-in as soon as possible, including returning my passport the next morning just to avoid do the registration. Breakfast was good and rather scarce. No self service coffee. In brief, might be better options, even though having a parking is a must for those havin a car
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exactly what we wanted for 1 night

Posted Sep 16, 2012 on Hotels
This is an old building : 15th century. So you have to consider this in your review and comments. The location was perfect for me for one night. Even if we had the last room available ( on the 3rd floor), there's an elavator but one person at a time ! The breakfast was excellent and the service too.
5 out of 5
by David

Excellent

Posted Jul 5, 2012 on Hotels
Thourghly enjoyed our stay. An excellent location and our host was extremely helpfull. The breakfast was second to none. Would gladly stay again if back in the area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Working in the area

Posted Mar 5, 2012
Pros: Painted bedroom ceiling, great value.
Cons: none
Location: excellent location, everything is on your doorstep.
I am not one for writing reviews, but this was a delightful break from the standard western hotels I could have booked. It's a 16th Century Villa, so if you're expecting polished doorhandles and perfectly fitted features this is probably not the hotel for you. IF you're after rustic, friendly hotel then you've got a winner everytime. Friendly, helpful staff and a good selection of drinks from the bar. Breakfast was also full of choice and excellent homemade cake.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Old Villa

Posted May 31, 2011
Old 16th century mansion located 30-40 minutes by bus from Genoa center. We had a room with shared bathroom, and were happy to find a bidet and washsink in the room. Problem was that the bidet was basically unsable because of the old piping that spewed out rust particled water. The room itself was nice, with view of the sea and the train station - the trains were pretty loud so if you are a light sleeper bring earplugs. If you are a sucker for antiquity, this is your place - old creaky wood floors, painted ceilings, grand stone staircases, and large central communal living rooms. There were two bathrooms on our floor, and one shower created a flood, so only one bathroom remained usable - all a bit run-down. The breakfast was very good -croissants, home made sweets, fruit, juice, cereal, bread, jam, yogurt, and made to order espresso/coffee- in good weather you could sit out in the patio - a pleasurable experience. A 15 minute drive by car to the center. There were several buses stopping close by to the hotel, just make sure to ask the tabbaccheria man (from whom you'll buy your tickets) where the stops are. All in all not a bad experience, but for the price I was expecting a better maintained property - the place needs major renovations. Despite all of this, it retains its charm set in the middle of a fairly large property with shady trees and flowers. There is free car parking but no internet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brighton, United Kingdom

A perfect combination

Posted May 18, 2011
I just loved this hotel. Everuthing was excellent - the location, the staff, the rooms, the breakfast, the view from the window, the price. It was a perfect combination of things. Even though bathroom and toilets were outside in the corridor it didn`t bring any inconvenience because overall everything was so extremelu nice. I loved those marmor stairs and the idea that the building was 400 years old made me feel like I was a duchess... I would like to come and come againto to Villa Bonera...
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A journey to the past

Posted Nov 18, 2009
First consideration: Villa Bonera is a 500 years old building! Hence, let me tell you this: to sleep in a room with a painted ceiling does not happen everyday. The hosts are extremely friendly and it is really nice talking to the owner of the hotel to learn about Genoa and its people. The Villa itself is very nice even though could be much better with some serious restoring (but, I am sure, it cannot be that cheap). The location is in Nervi and you can even see the sea from your room. There is also a common balcony where to relax with such a beautiful view. In my opinion the Villa offers the best quality/cost ratio among the hotels I have been in Genoa. Ah, I was forgetting: you cannot miss the hand-made cake which is offered every morning for breakfast.
3 out of 5
by Jacob G. from Zoetermeer

ok

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
oude villa met veel achterstallig onderhoud maar mooie tuin / terras /ontbijt. 1 keer diner gedaan- vrij eenvoudig maar goede kwaliteit/hoeveelheid en niet te duur. voor mij alleen toilet/douche in hal. personeel was heel behulpzaam, toen bij vertrek mijn auto accu leeg was en alleen startkabels niet genoeg waren.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016 by Barbara, Hotel Management
Dank Jacob voor deze beoordeling. We zijn blij dat je genoten hebt van uw verblijf hier, was zijn kamer niet uitgerust met een eigen badkamer en dit was de goedkoopste, maar nog steeds mooi. Ik hoop dat met de hulp van onze mechanische en beheerd zonder problemen te verlaten en naar huis te gaan!