Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mixed review

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Dirty pool. Overpriced. Toilet wouldn't flush. No water access. However . Beautiful ocean view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, Ontario

High points and low points

Posted Aug 21, 2017
First the high points. Beautiful historic hotel with large lovely rooms centrally located in George Town. Small fridges and coffee makers provided. Restaurant was quaint and food was good. Now the low points. I was there with a group of 8 and at our first meal at restaurant we discovered that they had added a huge tip/surcharge to each of our bills. We were fine with the stated 15% but there were $9 tips added to $20 bills. The server was quick to fix it once we drew it to her attention. Thursday night BBQ and band was wonderful, a lot of fun and reasonably priced. Downside was a bartender told my father the Bahamian dollar was only worth half the US dollar when my dad gave him a tip in Bahamian $. Fyi they are on par. Lastly, we were there for 3 nights and the pool was murky and algae filled when we arrived. I politely drew this to the attention of the front desk staff 3 times over the first 2 days and even told them one of our guys was willing to clean it if they gave him the tools. Finally I spoke to the manager Charles early evening on the 2nd day and he was gracious and attentive and we had a clean pool for our last day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Alex, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your feedback. We apologize for the low points of your stay and have addressed the situation already. As was explained to you, the Pool was just vacuumed and cleaned minutes prior to your arrival and would have taken some time to clear. Despite the low points we totally enjoyed hosting your stay and do look forward to the next time around. All the best to you and the other guest. Have a wonderful day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice hotel close to stores and great view.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: The view was excellent, roooms were clean and they everything on site with good food in the restaurant
Cons: Pillows
Location: I only stayed one night was just passing through
Great staff clean rooms and very convenient access by boat or car
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Alex, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We totally enjoyed hosting your stay and we look forward to making each future stay better than the last. All the best to you and yours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location. Groceries 5 times expensive to USA

Posted Jun 21, 2017
Pros: Wet clothes dry overnite on the balcony.Super helpful people hang out here.All tours will pick up at the Peace and Pleanty.Only $30 taxi from airport.
Cons: Lots of mosquitos.Tourist fishing not allowed without a guide.We saw giant lobsters (8 and 15 pounds).They got big because you're not allowed 2 take.
Location: Motorboat rental at Minn's across the street.Stocking Island Ferry, $15 round trip is 3 buildings away.Grocery & Edgewater restaurant= 15 min. walk.
Food is scarce and expensive in Exuma. Bring nuts,snacks in suitcase.$3 can of peanuts at Costco cost $28 in Exuma.Locals are very helpful and have the phone number of all the other locals(ie tour guides, drivers) on speed dial.Everything (conch, coleslaw, BBQ chicken, fries) at Edgewater Restaurant is "to die for", big portions,better value than Fish Fry.Big grocery store next door. Bring lots of cash, especially $5 bills. I'd buy 2 dinners at a time and have it "to go". I put one in the fridge for the next day. Behind Chat n Chill on Stocking island, to the left of St Francis restaurant, where all the yachts are parked, is the blue hole. You don't need a boat as others have said. You can snorkel there from Chat n Chill. You know its the Blue Hole because you will see Bob the giant baracuda. Bob is friendly. There is also a bunch of nice coral nearby. Another snorkeling spot is near the front side of Chat n Chill. Two beaches down, snorkel before the yellow buoy. You don't need a boat to get here either, it is swimable with fins. "Must do" is the all day tour to swim with the pigs, sharks and Thunderball island. All tours go to the same place at the same time with one difference. One tour takes you to starfish bay and feeds you conch salad, while another takes you to a really good restaurant where you have to pay extra to eat. You don't need a phone at Peace n Plenty.Front desk & locals will make calls for you.My Magicjack ($30/yr) includes unlimited calls to USA from Exuma
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Venice FL

Awesome local place

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Love this place. Wonderful locals with great hospitality. Always a wonderful experience and love the local staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, Ohio

friendly helpful staff

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Clean, Staff makes you feel welcomed
Cons: Menu for selection limited on food, but understand limits on this island since everything must be shipped in
Location: Great Location, right in center of town next to police station, docks and gift shops. Easy walking distance
Staff is great very friendly, rooms are dated but kept very clean and comfortable. Our only minor complaint is food cost is a bit high however, that is found everywhere on this island . We will stay here again whenever we go back to Exuma
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

perfect spot

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Right in the centre of Georgetown. Great location and close to local food and experiences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jupiter, FL

Nice hotel centrally located

Posted Mar 14, 2017
P&P is centrally located in downtown Georgetown. It's just a short walk to the dock that takes you to Stocking Island. The hotel has an "old" charm and is very well kept. There are not a lot of outlets in the room and bringing a multi plug outlet helped us a lot .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so good...

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Expensive and not very nice for price. The restaurant kitchen was horrendous, dirty, old, the nicest area was the pool and bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A terrific staff in a centralized location

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Staff is terrific.
Cons: Eventually all rooms need to be upgraded.
Location: Take the full-day and half-day guided tours to see the swimming pigs, etc. Have drinks at Chat n Chill on Stocking Island.
Exuma is beautiful. It is expensive (pretty much everything needs to be imported from Nassau). Peace and Plenty is a welcoming and warm hotel that is modest in its accommodations but vibrant in its staff's willingness to accommodate you. Adjust your expectations. Appreciate the beauty of your surroundings, as the locals do, and you'll enjoy your stay. There are very few amenities, as compared to luxury accommodations. But you get what you need. The restaurant is very good! The drinks at the bar and terrific. Enjoy Lermon--part of the history of this hotel and the island.