Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stunning!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
This hotel is absolutely stunning! The design is flawless, rooms exceedingly clean and service second to none. Thank you so much to all of the staff at 23 love lane!
5 out of 5
by Julie

What a gem !

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is one of the best I have stayed at. It is truly amazing. There was nothing to fault
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Wonderful calm hotel in the middle of George Town

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff. The location was central and everything was in walking distance. It is quirky, unusual and peaceful.
Location: Great central location with lots of nice places to eat or simply experience the street food. Lots of history to seek out from the colonial days.
On entering the courtyard, through two huge wooden doors, this peaceful hotel was an absolute delight . Each bedroom was individually designed and tastefully decorated. Our room was the only one with an outdoor but private huge bathroom. The queen size bed was comfortable and the room clean and had complimentary soft drinks and water, coffee and tea. We arrived in time for a light afternoon tea, complimentary of the hotel, and were served drinks by the very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was lovely and there was plenty to choose from. We would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly stop again.
5 out of 5
by Eugene

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
we arrived early and the hotel was very kind to allow us an early check in. The room was comfortable, pretty decent. Rustic-feel complimenting the culture and tradition of Penang. Although the hotel was very thorough in having mosquito coil burning throughout my stay, I still had mosquitoes bothering me but it could have been worst if nothing was done at all. Love the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Conserved house with nostalgic feel

Posted Mar 7, 2017
The owners ( understand are three ex lawyers) are arts collectors. I like all thd paintings and art piece in the hotel. Like the little library where we can hang around after a hectic day with some coffee and tea. The staff are very friendly, flexible and helpful except for a Chinese uncle who is on night duty was not very friendly.
1 out of 5
by wei chuan

Cost vs quality ratio is bad

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
Ced linen was stench, heater not working, wifi in room was intermittently cut off, TV reception was bad, breakfast was so lousy that i didnt bother to eat. Definately not worth the amount spent even though the layout of the building gives a tastes of the 60s houses
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Stylish hotel in local style

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Friendly, helpful staff. Charming small hotel with lots of charm in the local traditional style. Quiet even though in the middle of the popular heritage area. Not a Sheraton or Hilton type of place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Redho, Hotel Management
dear Mr John. Thank you for your good review about our hotel. Its been a pleasure to have you at 23 Love Lane Hotel , Penang. Hopefully will see you again in future time.
4 out of 5
by Chris

Character in the Center of Culture

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
Great character hotel with wonderful charm in a fantastic part of town. They still need to work out a few rough edges: WiFi was pretty bad; TV didn't work; air con kind of loud; breakfast is OK, not great; rooms can be aired a bit more. But these are rounding errors. A very cool place in the center of the best part of Penang with vibrant culture and walking distance to so many places. Staff is so helpful. I will go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Wotif
Lovely Colonial residence, very friendly and accommodating staff, free afternoon tea every day at 430pm, nice Acca Kappa bathroom toiletries
5 out of 5
by JAYENDRAN

Convenient and a clean hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
The experience was great as all the staff was very friendly and made us feel at home.