Ratings based on 3,255 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Stay was nice, food not so good... Pool area is very nice and relaxing
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by Ameristar Black Hawk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your feedback. Hope to have you back for a better dining experience in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Potomac, MD

Very pleasant stay in a very quite room.

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Very pleasant stay in a very quite room. Starbucks in lobby and rooftop pool a definite plus!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lakewood CO.

Nice hotel and casino

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Have stayed at this hotel many times love the hotel great place to stay in Blackhawk only problem we have is with the staff it seems like none of them are happy with their jobs they are just not friendly it's like they're they're just to do their job and that's it the other is the Fireside kitchen it seems like we always have some kind of problem when we there it's either the staff or the food this time it was the food they bring out a hamburger and the bun was rock hard and service was slow but otherwise our stay was great
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

3 AM Alarm

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: The hotel is nice and the rooms are comfortable.
Cons: Communication and staff being nicer.
Location: Gambling town.
At 3 AM on the night of our stay, the fire alarm sounded and we all had to evacuate the hotel. After about an hour out in the cold. We noticed people going back in. The hotel employees did not even inform the guests that it was all clear. We never got an explanation of what happened. The next day at check out, I asked about it and they staff just gave some vague story that they "think" a pipe burst and caused the alarm to go off. We got no apologies or anything. Just took our money and sent us on our way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Ameristar Black Hawk, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Stella. Thank you for your recent visit and review. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and your room, but we are concerned to hear about the rest of your experience. We have notified management of your concern during the evacuation. Our safety management team is working to improve the process and procedure for emergency evacuations in the future and is taking all guest feedback into consideration. We appreciate hearing from you and look forward to providing you with a better overall visit in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the same place as last year.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Room not ready as per check in. Rates up 150$ and half the room. Room service 9.30 not even awake never returned. casino dirty glasses all over slots. Spent 150 on dirty slots and got a beer. Next night got repermanded by a bar made for a beer because we weren't playing. Spent 200 that night. Slot machines not going off like last year. Don't think you're going to win it's all in the fun, not fun this year. Going to central city next year. Oh almost forgot. Got to watch two low life couples fighting on the roof top parking lot from the 31st floor. More entertaining than Ameristar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Ameristar Black Hawk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and have passed it along to the team as a suggestion for improvement. We hope to have you back in the future for the 5-star experience you deserve.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Disappointed

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Rooms area good size. Do not feel cramped at all.
Cons: Better lighting in the bathroom for putting on make up.
If I wanted to go to the strip in Las Vegas, I would have. Was hoping for more of the mountain feel of the other casinos in Black Hawk. Hotel table games were all priced like Vegas. The dinner Buffet was a HUGE disappointment. Food was mediocre at best, some not edible at all, and was room temperature instead of hot which I presume is likely a health code violation. The bed had a huge indent in it and the pillows were too soft to hold your head at a good angle. Lastly, I asked if there were any upgrades available for Expedia gold+ members and she smirked and said no, I also asked if there were any perks for celebrating a birthday there and she promptly said no.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Ameristar Black Hawk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed the room during your stay, and we appreciate your feedback and suggestions for improvement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CO

Comfortable room

Posted Jul 13, 2017
No free meals or incentives unless you play A LOT at the slots or tables, nice hotel with a rooftop pool and hot tub
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Ameristar Black Hawk, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review. We're happy you had a comfortable stay with us, and we hope to see you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Broomfield, CO

Best hotel in Black Hawk

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Modern, bright, inviting. Very classy!
This was our first stay in Black Hawk. After reviewing on-line other hotels, we decided to stay at Ameristar. The hotel is very modern and clean. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. We wandered to other casinos/hotels while there, and the rest seemed very dark, dingy and not very inviting. We will definitely stay at Ameristar again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Ameristar Black Hawk, Hotel Management
Good morning, Bobbi. Thank you for your visit and review. We are thrilled to know you had a wonderful stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful Casino in the most scenic location

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Cons: just add overnight staff and this place will be 4 stars
Location: Black Hawk is a must see !! The most scenic town in Colorado
Casino and steakhouse are excellent. Hotel under staffed at late hours. Front desk has to double as bell staff when ti's late at night or early in the am.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Ameristar Black Hawk, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review, Chris. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and had an excellent dining and casino experience with us. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

nice all inclusive resort

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Food, bar, casino, spa
Location: casinos
Not really a family type of resort but it was very relaxing for us adults.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Ameristar Black Hawk, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review, Crystal. We're glad you had a great time with us, and we hope to see you again soon.