Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Traditional values with modern comfort

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: good location. very helpful and knowledgeable staff. spacious clean rooms in heritage style. brilliant Italian inhouse restaurant
Cons: provide bigger shampoo and body soap containers
Location: excellent location to explore the old worl heritage sites of Georgetown
good location. very helpful and knowledgeable staff. spacious clean rooms in heritage style. brilliant Italian inhouse restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Great

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Service fantastic and the bed gave me my best nights sleep in a long time. Nice touch was bringing a late afternoon desert treat to the room.
Cons: Keep doing what your doing it works.
Location: Great dim sum restaurant nearby.
We appreciated how everyone went out of their way to make us feel at home as well as the suggestions on things to do. We had a great day at the Tropical Spice Gardens and despite the rain enjoyed walking around George Town to view all of the street art. The room was beyond expectations and the restaurant food was a welcome lunchtime treat after walking around the town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Perfect home away from home

Posted Aug 12, 2017
This place really goes all out to look after you. Welcome drink, daily complimentary cake, huge delicious breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice, and great tips from Vanessa the amazing front desk staff. Thank you! Excelled in everything. Would definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Nardya, Hotel Management
Dear Matthew, Thank you for the wonderful feedback, Vanessa is very pleased to read your kind comments and I am so glad you felt well taken care of! We look forward to welcome you back again soon.. Warmest Regards Nardya & All The Campbell House Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

A memorable stay in Penang is at the Campbell H.

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The House had classical antique furnishings, a large four poster bed, shuttered windows, a clean and expansive bathroom and attention given to detail.
Cons: Nothing - it is a perfect place to stay in Penang
Location: Its central location in Penang is filled with interests - temples, mosques and diverse restaurants to enjoy.
Upon our arrival at the Campbell House we were greeted with the news that our reservation through Orbitz had not been sent to the House. After welcoming us with a cool drink and a freshened towel, the owners did everything in their power to ameliorate the situation. They contacted Orbitz for us, spent time untying the red tape involved and made sure we were not charged for the stay. They gave us an upgrade for one night at the Campbell House, found us a room at another Heritage House for the rest of our visit and moved our luggage to the new hotel. None of this was necessary on their part, but they understood our dilemma and worked hard to remedy the situation. Without a doubt this is a beautiful hotel but what adds to the charm is the friendly and professional owners and staff. We will definitely stay here again when we visit Penang.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Nardya, Hotel Management
Dear Diana, Thank you so much for the kind feedback, it is our worst nightmare when we find we haven't received a booking for a guest, be it technical or human error. I am so happy to read that we still managed to make a good impression and were able to ensure you had a great stay with us and find you a good alternative accommodation. Fortunately we you were also the most wonderful and understanding guests, and we are very thankful for your patience and understanding! We do hope one day we will be able to welcome you back to stay at Campbell House for longer! With our very best wishes Nardya, Roberto & Campbell House Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top Spot

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel. Marvelous breakfast. Very good location and extremely helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017
Dear Janice Thank you for the excellent review and great feedback on the staff and location! Kind Regards Nardya
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff and beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Location, staff and surrounding
Location: There is great local food along the main street of Kimberly in the evening.
Spend a lovely vacation with my family at this hotel for the 2nd time. Friendly staff, great ambiance and hearty breakfast. We really had to debate if we wanted local fare or the hotel breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is in a great location for exploring George Town. The staff knows the area well and was able to show us several good restaurants and sights. The breakfast is delicious.
5 out of 5
by George

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Many thumbs up!

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay, with excellent service and location to explore Georgetown even on foot. Would definitely be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017
Thank you so much for the great review! We look forward to welcome you back again soon... Best Regards The Campbell House Team
5 out of 5
by Kareen

Best Stay in Malaysia ever!

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent stay for a leisure holiday! I've been to major chains like Hilton etc in KL and none of those could beat my stay here. Staff were friendly, breakfast was absolutely delicious- albeit limited selections. Love the rooms. Took the Indochine room- very spacious! Highly impressed by the colonial meets peranakan style. I have no complaints, except that we don't get bottled water. Mini bar was complimentary, everything was simply wonderful. Right smack in Georgetown where everything else is easily accessible, a 24 hr convenience store across the street, a relatively yummy dim sum/ chinese restaurant (Tai Tong) round the corner, attractions like Kimberly Street Food, famous Chendol at Joo Hooi and the Blue Mansion/ Love Lane all within walking distance. Highly recommended!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017
Dear Kareen, Thank you for the wonderful review, we are so happy to read you enjoyed your time with us and loved our location and amenities. We apologize we do not supply bottled water, we try our best to cut down on waste with plastic bottles, however we do replenish the filtered water and ice lemon tea in the mini bar. Thank you again for recommending us so highly! We do hope we can welcome you back again in the future Warmest Regards The Campbell House Team