Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Very well located near Chulia Street

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: It was a very authentic 19th century building with a courtyard in the middle
Cons: The windows facing the street need glazed panels on the inside of the timber shutters to cut out traffic noise.
Location: It's practically on Chulia Street. The bus to Batu Ferringhi runs past Chulia Street. It's walkable to the Blue Mansion. It's very well located
Generally good experience and very affordable. The first room I got was facing the front street. As the windows were authentic and from the 19th century, there was no glass; only timber shutters. Therefore it was very noisy with traffic noise. Luckily, I was able to change my room to one at the back the next day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Luzy, Hotel Management
Were glad that u had a great stay with us. Our management will doing something to be lessen the noise inside the room. Hoping to see you next time. Thank you so much. Best regards!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not for toddlers

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Good hotel with easy access to Penang's tourist spot, walkable distance. Not suitable for family with small child. Noisy, furniture with sharp edges, small bathroom and etc. Room is damped & moldy, bed sheets has yellow stains and room is dusty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017 by Luzy, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Greetings! Thank you for your comment. Please hear our apology with the shard edges furniture and for the dusty room. We are upgrading some furnitures and we are promise to serve you better next time. Kind regards, Luzy/ Resa Cintra Heritage House info@cintrahouse.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

it was not very good

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: na
Cons: na
Location: na
The condition is old and poor. But the price and room size is good.
4 out of 5
by Christine

Great place

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was incredible!!! Helpful and friendly going out of their way to make me comfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Be prepared

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
The staff are helpful, no TV, too near to the street so many noise from outside & no parking provide was a turn off button. Other than this, all were good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from singapore

Basic hotel without TV

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Room photos a bit misleading as the actual hotel rooms look quite old with peeling paints and mold on walls. Bed is quite hard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from California

Cute, cozy stay

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Birds (caged) in the courtyard. Open air rooms.
Cons: peeling paint from water damage.
Location: Excellent location for meals and night action.
This was a nice surprise boutique type stay. Unique decor and the hotel layout.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

Good location

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Checked in into a room with dirty bedlinen. They offered us to change to another room located on the ground floor. Though rooms are nice for what you pay, do not stay in a ground floor room facing the main road. You would even hear when your upstairs neighbors pass gas! Room facing the road was a big mistake. Stayed there for 2 nights and zero sleep. Staff are super nice and breakfast simple but nice .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient and friendly hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
wifi was difficult
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
my stay was nice but the room that i stayed too scary and at nigth with the heavy rain i saw a lady stand at the door looking at us with kebaya look like a nyonya baba. and sound like someone screming for help