Ratings based on 900 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down hotel with awful customer service

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Good location and nice complimentary breakfast, but those are the only positives. The front desk staff was not helpful whatsoever and offered horrible customer servics. At check-in we requested a late checkout. We were told that we could not request this until morning (totally defeats the purpose). The night staff was unfriendly and rude, and no manager was available to speak with. Called the front desk in the morning to once again request late checkout and was told the person who handles it was not available and would call me back. Never received a call back. The hotel was very run down. Hallway carpets dirty and stained throughout the entire hotel, except the lobby. The door to our room did not close properly; had to be slammed in order to secure it. The room and bedding smelled. Walls were banged up, closet door handle broken with nail sticking out. The mini fridge was plugged into an outlet which was controlled by the main light switch - didn't realize that the fridge didn't run at all when the lights were turned off until morning. And why would they place the coffee maker directly above the toilet?!?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Awful customer service. Old, worn down hotel with dirty rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

For the price it is exceptional.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
This hotel room was very clean and smelled like new, also the sound proof walls are great. I put the "do not disturb "sign on door handle and no one bothered me whatsoever. Its definitely 4.5 out of 5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Not Without Flaws, Still Easily My Best Hotel Stay

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Being a poor, working 20-something, this is easily the most expensive hotel I've ever allowed myself to stay in and it was worth every penny. I intend to make it my go-to spot for stays in Grand Rapids going forward. That said, my two criticisms of the trip in question are: 1) No rooms were ready at check-in time. I understand that they were understaffed and coming off a full occupancy night, but respectfully that's not the customer's problem to solve (nor the front desk - management should probably have anticipated needs better). Luckily, I was granted what seemed to be first room ready, leading to... 2) There was stale bread inside the vents of bedroom air conditioner. It seemed fresh, not moldy or the like, leading me to think that it was left by the previous guest('s child, I hope) and simply missed as they rushed rooms back into service. Still, not the most pleasing discovery to make. However, I felt that neither issue rose to the level of "worth complaining about to the clerk", and enjoyed my stay immensely.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from e

Nice staff acceptable hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The staff was nice and did their best to accommodate . However, the room was dirty , our wall had a hole in it, the beds not so comfortable . For the price including a hot breakfast it was acceptable
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Meagan, Hotel Management
Alex - On behalf of my entire staff I would like to apologize for the disappointments you encountered during your stay. We always strive for an extraordinary customer experience and I am so sorry that goal wasn't reached during your stay. I sincerely hope you will consider giving us another try in your future travels!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Erica

Do not stay here.

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
This place has gone downhill in a terrible way. I left my detailed review on another site already.
4 out of 5
by Kristy

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017
On behalf of my entire staff I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review! It makes our day when we know we are hitting the mark for our guests! Thank you for choosing Best Western and we hope to see you again soon!
2 out of 5
by Ramona

I'm happy customer

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Was accused of my room getting a rush of smoke smell when my 3 year old opened the door and I don't Smoke what so ever it was horiable that my 12, 6, and two 3 year olds had to see me argue with the manager and his co-worker I will never stay here again!! And our room smelled like pure you know what from a pipe probelem I don't know but it was unpleasant
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Franklin Wi

Disappointing Stay

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Plenty of room on the counter in the living area- why was the coffee maker on a shelf directly over the toilet?
Location: Stayed to visit relatives and did not do anything touristy.
I was there two nights. Friday night there was a strange noise coming from upstairs so I called to see what it was. It immediately stopped, so that was a good thing! Next night, I get back to my room around 6:00pm. In the connecting room, I could hear a loud woman and several (6-8) children of varying ages. I can hear every word she is saying, even with my tv on. She sends the kids to the pool to swim and continues to talk to others in the room. The kids come back and say they were told to leave because there was no supervision. This makes the loud woman very mad. Long story short, I started calling at 10:15pm to let them know I was unable to sleep. Needed to call four more times until they decided to call the sheriff at 4:ooam. At this point, kids were running in the halls and screaming, and I believe the adults had left them alone. Sheriff interviews the kids outside my door. I was unable to sleep all night. In the morning the manager apologized and said that my situation was handled poorly. She did give me a free night stay at any Best Western for the future, so at least she understood. However I would have rather had a good nights sleep as I had a long drive home in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2017 by Nader Judah, Hotel Management
Carol - On behalf of my entire staff I would like to sincerely and wholeheartedly apologize for the difficulties you experienced with your stay. Those incidents in no way reflect the standards we try to uphold in giving our guests an amazing customer service experience. Unfortunately, our policies were not effective in the handling of your issues. I would like to assure you those policies were reviewed with all of my staff and they all have been re-educated in the proper way of addressing these situations so none of our future guests will have the same experience as you. Again, I wholeheartedly apologize and I sincerely hope you'll give us another try so you can experience our regular level of superior customer service.