Ratings based on 1,091 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Cozy and safe

Posted Dec 7, 2017
For a woman traveling alone I felt very safe. The staff was super nice. And they offered a complimentary breakfast and dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario, Canada

Great for overnight stay in area

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Location and comfort if the rooms.
Cons: Amount of food for breakfast and staff available for keeping up with food.
Location: Near shopping
We were pleased with our stay. The room was clean and comfortable. Our only complaint would be that they were not able to keep up with having enough food for everyone for breakfast. There was a big group of athletes that ate early and consumed a lot of the food. By the time we had breakfast, there was no fresh fruit and limited choices on other food items.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Easy check in. Friendly staff. New carpet being installed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Location: Close to shopping and restaurants.
The hotel was very nice, clean and the breakfast was very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Cons: Renovate
Very old and run down rooms in dire need of renovation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review. We strive for guest satisfaction and we are sorry that your experience fell short of that standard due to the condition of your room at that time. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids

Lower price means RENOVATION!

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: The staff was nice and so was the shuttle driver. Breakfast was good also.
Cons: Warn me about renovation, and fix the toilet before I get in the room.
Location: Lots of stuff and places to eat.
I thought i was getting a diamond in the rough with the low price and high rating, but what I got was a hotel under renovation with a constantly running toilet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out to us. It's fantastic to hear that you had a wonderful occurrence with our friendly staff as well as the breakfast that was offered. However, we regret to know that we fell short of your expectations due to the current condition of the hotel at that time. Please know that we are striving to keep everything current and take all precautionary measures for our guests comfort and safety. We appreciate your candid feedback and hope to have you back soon to share a more positive experience on your next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Somethings were just off

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Our beds and pillows diffently needed to be changed, very uncomfortable. The shower had very limited hot water and the tiles were popping up on the floor. The property over all seemed surface clean but it has a weird feeling of not being cleaned
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Booked based on reviews. We’re disappointed with our first stay here. I was aware of updates, construction going on and thus was not disruptive during stay. Rooms are outdated and run down. All updates are in hallways (carpet) and lobby? Bad news... Short and curly on “clean” washcloth. Tried to use tub/shower but drain stopper broken. Drain n filled so full of hair it backed up and black drain funk filled tub. Tried to Use washcloth to plug but didnt work. Went to desk told Kristen. She had maintenance from neighbor hotel over while we used pool. Returned to room and tub fixed but the washcloth I had tried to plug tub with was tossed carelessly on top of our clean clothes in bathroom?!?! Went to desk, Kristen says “ewww” as I had washcloth to her. Kids had long, black stuck to them after playing on bedroom floor. My son found dirty men’s socks under bed while looking for his stuffed animal. . Staff was courteous but dismissive. Noon check out is cool. Check in smooth. Allow pets, awesome, but we almost stepped in HUGE dog poo pile in grass by side entry door when we were unpacking! Breakfast was alright. Freezing cold sweet rolls almost to cold and hard to eat. Fresh fruit not so fresh. Kids liked eggs and juice. Coffee was ok. We’d reserved another whole weekend stay here in near future but I just cancelled. Think we can get a better deal. Cost me $103 for one night here, not a “best deal” by any means!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Kristan Z., Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room, the bathroom especialy. We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards. Best Regards, Kristan Z. Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids

Clean hotel with nice pool area.

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Check in was smooth. Staff was friendly and room was clean. Only complaint was very minor. No ice machine on 2nd floor. 😞
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Kristan Z., Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. I apologize that our ice machine is only on the first floor but I will forward your comments to management. We look forward to your next stay. Best Regards, Kristan Z. Assistant General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Not the greatest but close to the airport

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Close to the airport
Room was right next to the washing machine which woke me up throughout the night. TV channels were fuzzy and didn't come in well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Kristan Z., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for the laundry being done throughout the night. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again. Best Regards, Kristan Z. Assistant General Manager