Ratings based on 793 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Is good customer service not expected any longer

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Rude staff from the time I checked in until I checked out. Didn't want to work with my reservation took longer to check in than usual. Didn't have enough towels and the desk staff didn't want to get up told us to wait for house keeping. Lost a cord and they can't tell me if they found it or not the staff is not in correlation with house keeping very loud. Had an upgraded room and wish I would have went with standard worst bad I've been on in compared to other stays.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Brand Experience Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is important for all of our guests to feel welcomed, receive the highest level of service, respect and hospitality. The customer service issues you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality, and we are sorry you experienced less than satisfying service during your visit. We strongly encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from detroit mi

Worst place

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Just bad, I would never stay there again . No fridge, closets, no breakfast. No housekeeping and what we were told that it is their policy that they don't clean the room unless we check out and if we wanted our room cleaned then we have to pay extra which never in my life have I ever stayed at a hotel in my room wasn't either made or clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. We apologize for the negative issues you experienced during your stay. We're also sorry we didn't thoroughly explain Motel 6's standard cleaning policies to you and caused confusion. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler, AZ

Older but clean

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Clean room.
Cons: Dark hallways make it hard to see.
Location: Very close to airport and easy to find local food and entertainment.
I needed a 1-night stay at last minute so this filled my need. Close to airport and easy to commute.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. We're happy you had a nice stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again for taking the time to leave your comments.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Passable hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Cheap, especially when you have to pay out of your own pocket on a sales trip. Parking lot well lit.
Cons: Supply shampoo in each room. Replace CRT TV with a flat panel.
Location: Handy to airport and highways. Enough restaurants to choose from with a 5 minute drive.
The hotel is an easy drive to airport. It neither disappointed nor impressed me. It is a place to sleep and shower on a sales trip, nothing more. No food service, not a problem. McDs 5 minute walk away for b'fast, Applybees, Chilis. Texas Roadhouse, etc all within a 5 minute drive. Staff pleasant. Price was right.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. Please stay with us again the next time you're in the area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Stay somewhere else

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Ice water in the lobby and location
Cons: Make it more comparable to other Motel 6's. Make it safer. Replace the flooring and everything in the rooms.
Location: Woodland Mall, lots of good restaurants; Kent County Airport is a few miles a way.
I have never written a review on a hotel until now, but I felt an obligation to do so this time. You would feel safer and more comfortable sleeping in the woods than staying here. I really can't think of anything positive to say, except for the ice water served in the lobby. The flooring was almost like balsa wood. We were on the 2nd floor and I thought I fall through the floor. And I'm not heavy. Speaking of the 2nd floor, there is no elevator. I was delighted at first to see a blow dryer in the room, but it was broken. The TV is something you could find in a typical hotel room 20 years ago. There is one positive in terms of location and close to restaurants and Woodland Mall. But for reasons I can't understand, this hotel seems to attract very questionable patrons. And it's not like the area is otherwise unsafe. There is a Hilton across the road. Quality establishments in the vicinity. I understand that Motel 6 isn't Hilton, but even for $55 a little bit more is expected.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. We apologize for the negative issues you experienced during your stay with us. Thanks again for your comments.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Yuck! Dirty and unsafe feeling.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
The carpet was dirty and stained. There was a rusty metal port of some sort built into the wall. The bathroom and bathroom floor were dirty. I did not go barefoot at all. Thank God I carry Lysol wipes when I travel. The bed was surprisingly comfortable, bedding was clean and fresh. I tightened up the sheets and straightened the blankets upon arrival. There were people who seemed vagrant at two of the entrances smoking. I went out to my car after taking a nap after I arrived and a woman was sitting close to the door on what looked like a chair from a room, with two men standing around her. They were smoking, listening to music and drinking from plastic cups. I decided I'd avoid that entrance for the rest of the evening. Later, I wanted to go out to smoke so I went to a different entrance and as I was standing there a man in a hoodie with no shoes on walked toward me. I felt some fear as it was dark and no one else was around. He approached, bent over and picked a cigarette bud up off the ground and put it in his pocket. He then entered the motel. There was a woman loudly crying and exclaiming in the hallway on two occasions; I heard a female voice tell her, "If you don't quiet down, we're gonna get kicked out of here." I cut my stay short and checked out the next morning. My refund was processed with no problem, though I have yet to see it back in my account (the expected time period advised has not yet past). Never again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. We apologize for the negative issues you experienced during your stay, we are aware of them and are working to eliminate them. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your comments.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GRAND RAPIDS

RESERVATION

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Cons: RESERVATION CHARGES BECAUSE EVEYTIME I GO THERE ITS SOMEONE WHO NEEDS A ROOM SO ITS NOT LIKE THE ROOM WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN SOLD
I RESERVED A ROOM 2 WEEKS IN ADVANCE AND DUE TO FAMILY ISSUES I FORGOT AND WAS CHARGED TO TOTAL COST OF THE ROOM. EVEN THOUGH I WAS AWARE THAT WOULD HAPPEN IF NOT CANCELLED, I FEEL THERE SHOULD HAVE BEEN A COURTESY CALL, TEXT, OR EMAIL BEFORE I WAS CHARGED
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. You have until 6pm the day of your arrival to cancel your reservation at no charge.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Sooo trashy

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Crumbs all over the floor and in the tub, human hairs all over the tub and sheets in the bed, stained sheets, cigarette burns on everything, horrible smell, extremely dirty walls and floors
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. We apologize for the negative issues you experienced during your stay, we will address them as soon as possible. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your comments.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from harbor springs, mi

Cheap price but terrible customer service

Posted Aug 25, 2017
first of all everything needed to be updated. The rooms smelt moldy and of cigarette smoke. Secondly, my husband forgot his watch and I called for them to hold it, because we were flying out and be back in a couple of days. The front desk said ok. When we returned the lady at the front desk said she couldn't find it and maybe house keeping had locked it up and gone home at 3pm. I can't believe that the front desk did not have the keys to get the watch.I waited patiently ... when she came back she said I needed to come back tomorrow or pay for it to be shipped to me. Of course I was there to pick it up and didn't want to pay for shipping plus I live 3 1/2 hours away. By this time my husband who was waiting outside comes inside and ask to speak to the general manager. The GM comes out and not only did he not look professional he was rude and unprofessional. He told us that we needed to come back the next day or pay for it to be shipped to us. "it's only $5" so he said. I was upset by this time, and had asked him to call house keeping to see if they could come back and try to figure where the watch was locked up. I went to the car and my husband waited, as he waited the maintenance man who heard the whole conversation happened to look in the desk in the front, where the front desk lady had looked in the beginning and what do you know??? There it was ! These people need to be better trained. Never staying here again .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. We're sorry it took so long to find your watch but are happy we were ultimately able to locate and return it. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your comments.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away

Posted Aug 24, 2017
What a dump. Only stayed because it was a last minute work schedule change. Never again. I would've been better off sleeping in my truck. Unless your thing is drug dealing, prostitution, domestic disputes at all hours of the night and worrying if your truck and tools are going to be there in the morning, I'd stay away from here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. We apologize for the negative issues you experienced during your stay. We do our best to try to address these types of issues as they occur but we also rely on our guests to inform us when they see something happening. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your comments.