Ratings based on 650 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Friendly staff. Convenient. Smokers would like.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Although it supposed to be smoke free, this room was probably used at one point to accomodate smokers. The odor is noticeble but not terrible. It's a motel and priced well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Check in was awful!

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Check in was awful! Clerk at desk said we owed - no I paid in June! Got that straightened out while another employee was constantly interrupting about something that had nothing to do with us and was just plain rude! Since we were the only ones there he could have waited 2 minutes! I would fire him if he was my employee! Liked the room location but waited for the girl in the morning to check us out!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Michigan

Visit to home town need place to stay while in GR

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Sleep well, clean close to shopping area's . I'm done with this . To long of answers should be short if a customer wishes it to be.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Room dirty!!!!!! Bathroom horrible. Only nice thing about hotel was staff. The staff was nice but totally inadequate. Would never recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and clean enough

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Front desk staff was helpful.
Cons: Fix the WIFI.
The room had been remodeled, so it was clean. However, the WIFI stinks. I had to go next door to the McDonald's to go online to order a pizza.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Attending conference downtown...

Posted Jul 8, 2017
This was an easy-to-get-to motel, reasonably priced, that I used just for sleeping. I arrived from conference late at night, but felt safe. Many restaurant choices nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Decent place to stay for a couple nights.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Location, ease of check-in.
Cons: Coffee makers in rooms, more cable channels, hair dryers mounted in rooms.
Location: This location was on the SE side of Grand Rapids. Not a bad location. We found a great Chinese restaurant nearby, I think it was called Family Wok.
The location was easy to find, check-in went fine. We had booked through Expedia, and the hotel had everything in place. Our room was ok, basically clean. We had a microwave and fridge, but no coffee maker or hair dryer. I did end up going to the office and asked for a hair dryer. They gave me one, the kind that is normally mounted on the wall. It was the dryer attached to the base and all. But it worked, so that's fine. The room was somewhat updated, and the sink was way too tall for the countertop. I am about 5'5" and if I were any shorter it would have been difficult to reach comfortably. The toilet did not have a lid, but worked fine. The beds were pretty hard, but I suppose some people like that. For those used to a sleep number bed, these felt like about a 90. No breakfast, but coffee and tea were available by office for guests. Television had 30 channels but still not much to watch. Very basic cable. Could step it up a bit for the price, but it was also a holiday weekend so maybe that affected the price?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Okay in a pinch

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: The female college student running the front desk was conscientious and helpful.
Cons: The smell. Housekeeping. Wi-fi infrastructure.
Location: There are many restaurants and stores up and down 28th Street.
Although it was a non-smoking room, it reeked of stale cigarettes. The room finishings were relatively modern, but there's just no hiding that history of smoke, not to mention the couple of cigarette burns on the bathtub. There was a big clump of very long black hair on the floor near the bathroom. The clock was an hour fast, which suggests the housekeepers never look at the clock, and the manager doesn't check the rooms very carefully. The wi-fi signal was too weak in the room to reliably use my iPhone6. It worked fine if I stood outside the office, however. My MacBook Pro got a better signal in the room, but the Internet was so slow that it was almost like dial-up.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Red Roof experience

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Got to our room and there was food containers, with food still in them lying around plus bottles of soda and baby formula. We were given a new room but that incident totally turned us off. Then on the way out, the front desk employee was complaining to every customer about working...apparently his dog was shot or something that day. So he brought his issues to work with him...very inprofessional.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for 1 night stay

Posted Jun 26, 2017
We were on the second floor, you can hear every step the person made upstairs.