Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon, England

Posted Jun 15, 2015
We used Gernsbach as a base to drive around the Black Forest. Lovely old town area with good variety of cafes, bars and restaurants....all within easy walking distance of the hotel. there's a great Thai restaurant alongside the river, on the same side of the river as the hotel. Opposite the Thai restaurant on the other side of the river is a delightful beer garden attached to The Joker restaurant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

I wont go there again

Posted Jul 8, 2014
I keep it short and simple: 1. No Air CO ! 2. WIFI vey bad 3. Staff does not speak English 4. Cleaner will knock on the door in the morning and if you don't respond she just comes in using her own key. No ''Do not disturb Board'' provided 5. Smelly lift
4 out of 5
by imar11 from North Wales

Great hotel with a few issues

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels
Unusual layout as reception is on the top floor. Looks to be an old apartment block turned into a hotel. They staff were excellent, very helpful and breakfast selection was huge. The only issue we had was the lack of air con. We visited when it was very hot and had yo leave the patio door open, as a result we had all the traffic noise and the local clock boinging every hour all through the night
5 out of 5
by Derek Naidoo from California

Great find

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent location, extremly friendly staff
4 out of 5
by Henrique

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2012 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

Construction in area

Posted Oct 8, 2011 on Hotels
It was hard to find the lobby, old decor and furnishings. I do not expect everyone to speak English when I am in another country but this made it difficult to communicate. This was last minute stay - I wish we had more time to review. Stay in Baden-Baden, right down the road.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dorset, UK

Hotel Stadt Gernsbach

Posted Jul 24, 2011 on Hotels
Hotel is a short walk from the pleasant old centre of Gernsbach. We had a large comforable room with balcony with views over the town and the Black Forest. Excellent breakfast and service. For an excellent informal evening meal try the Italian-run Altstadt da Orazio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boston, Massachusetts

Great family hotel for low price

Posted Aug 24, 2010
Stayed with two teenagers. Four beds in a large room. Very clean bathroom with deep tub. Great view from balcony. A food store with very good prices next door. Free parking, hearty breakfast for six Euros.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Sehr hilfsbereite Rezeption, gute Lage Nähe S-Bahn, Hotel ist in die Jahre gekommen aber alles sauber und ok
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Einfach und gut.

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
IM Zimmer alles was man braucht vorhanden.