Ratings based on 1,529 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2018
Nice and right in town
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted May 14, 2018
Perfect location for walking in to town, restaurants and shops. I had been expecting quaint, but it is quite new. Parking is easy and convenient. Staff was helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Methuen, MA

Posted May 13, 2018
Great location to all historical interest.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elmira, N Y

Posted May 10, 2018
Pleasant and helpful staff, good breakfast. The room was clean and nice. I personally was not comfortable on the bed. My wife said it was comfortable. I do have a bad back. 1863 Inn of Gettysburg is a nice place to stay. My wife and I go to Gettysburg a lot. We have been there many many times. We plan on booking here every time we return. Pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Avon Lake, Ohio

Great location!

Posted May 6, 2018
We’ve stayed here in years past and found it satisfactory. They’ve started upgrading their rooms and they’re great everyone there is warm and friendly. And the breakfast, included, was excellent. The location is perfect! Touring the battlefield or strolling the shops or walk downtown or to local restaurants is easy. Great stay here. We will be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2018
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Erie, PA

Posted Apr 29, 2018
Great location, within walking of many restaurants and shops!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2018
We arrived for late checkout at 8pm with our 4 kids. Greeted by 2 unenthusiastic front desk women they gave us our key. We went up to our room to be greeted by guests already staying in said room. So i went back down for another room. The 6 of us dragged our luggage up to a different floor and entered a room that hadnt yet been cleaned (at 8pm). Going down for a 3rd attempt to get a decent room you would think the front desk would be apologetic. Instead i got, "weve had a long day." Its unfortunate because the location is great. Hotel is not.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2018 by NJH, Hotel Management
We do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. In speaking with the clerk on duty she did inform me that she personally walked you to the last room to make sure that everything was acceptable. She inspected the room and asked if you would like to inspect it as well. She did apologize and offered to bring you extra towels and blankets. The day you checked in the computer system was doing an update and during that update the status of some of the rooms was changed without our knowledge. It was unfortunate and unacceptable and the clerk did apologize for the issue. We do have a wonderful hotel and a great staff. When you have computer issues and a full house it is very frustrating when you cannot provide the level of customer service that we are noted for. Again, we apologize for the problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good location for our needs.

Posted Apr 24, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: N/A
Location: Walking distance to the national cemetery.
convenient location to the Nation Battlefield Park and Visitors center. friendly staff, clean comfortable room, nice breakfast buffet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Nice location, close to town center

Posted Apr 23, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: Get bigger hot water tanks!!! Needs a little updating as well....
Location: Close to Gettysburg downtown, could walk if you wanted and able.
I don't require much from a hotel. Cleanliness & location are usually my top priorities....but a cold shower in a hotel is a game changer. My husband and I were traveling with my daughter to see the college. She was the first one up in the morning and had a tepid shower. My husband and I both had COLD showers! This is just unacceptable to me. Started my day out miserably. I mentioned it to the staff when checking out and she said " Yeah, maintenance is looking at it, must be because all the guests are taking showers at the same time." Really? Surprising that people would be taking showers in the morning!! She offered no refund/recompense for the inconvenience and I didn't ask because I don't do that. My daughter will be going to college there and we will be traveling there often. While the room was affordable and clean enough, I can't stay there again and risk cold showers. So, we will not be staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2018 by NJH, Hotel Management
As it happens at home, there are things that malfunction without notice. The boiler needed reset. We knew nothing of the issue until it was reported to us and the problem was corrected within the hour. Our boiler is large enough to properly supply hot water to every room in the building. You were offered compensation for the inconvenience. It is sad that you would not accept the discount but decided to post a not so complimentary review. Your room was clean and comfortable. Cold showers are not a common occurrence at this hotel. We had an issue and it was taken care of as soon as we were informed of it. Our other guests were very understanding. As stated previously, things happen that we cannot foresee. We certainly do not enjoy those occasions.