Ratings based on 1,132 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from albrightsville pa

Has gone downhill

Posted Nov 24, 2017
The room looked like it has not been maintained in quite a while. The bathroom was disgusting. Stains on the wall, bathroom door looked like it was recently brought in from an abandoned building, and bathtub appeared to be from the 1960's. There was a boil water advisory on the floor as we entered the room stating that we should not consume the water or use it to brush our teeth. Recommended using bottled water..., yet none was supplied. I have stayed here in the past but this is by far the worst experience I have ever had here. Used to be a decent hotel at a reasonable price....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, Pa.

Decent hotel 10 min. (by car) from center of town.

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Accommodations were fine and room rate was reasonable, lower than in town. The hotel is a little old and worn. Good features included free parking, a hot breakfast buffet, and an additional sink outside the bathroom. Coming from the middle of town, the hotel is hard to find, as there are 2 hotels in the same location and the Eisenhower is behind the other one; there is no big sign at the first entrance on Emmitsburg Road, but the staff told us there was a big sign a little farther down on the road. The biggest disadvantage is not being in town, where you could walk to everything (except the National Park Visitors Center).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ithaca,NY

Our King size bed & SUVCW

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Nice location from the BattleField. And rooms available,
Cons: Chase Breakfast time to 6AM, to accommodate early meeting folks.
Location: The Battlefield is just 4 miles away.
Mattress was lumpy, sheets slid off. No discount for SUVCW Life membership given. Toilet seat loose. Also Breakfast did not open until 7 AM most meeting start at 7AM, therefore no breakfast for some.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading, PA

Posted Nov 19, 2017
This was an impressive place in the 69's and 70s, but has not kept up. For the main events in Gettysburg (Battle Anniversary and Remembrance Day) some events are locater here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pittsbutgh, pa

Not for us

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Apparently they have no rules on smoking marijuana on the property. The smell of it was awful in the hallway, they did nothing about it when I called, and ran in to 2 men smoking it outside. I was terrified. By the time we got to breakfast it was about 10 am and they were out of a lot of food. Very unsatisfied.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017 by Front , Hotel Management
We are very sorry that you experienced this. We will address this directly. Thank you for staying with us and your business. We appreciate your feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Dated, Dirty & Disappointing!

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Nothing other than location -- close to Gettysburg college.
Cons: Everything -- new carpets, paint, furniture, bathroom fixtures are soooo needed! Better training for front desk -- rude and unresponsive staff.
Location: Visit Battlefields - key attraction but don't stay here!
Got there at 6:30 pm to check-in and found out "check-in" was closed and moved to another building on the expansive property. Room was disgusting -- beds unmade, towels on the floor and garbage everywhere. I tried to call repeatedly from my room and no one picked up the phone. Had to walk a mile, literally, back to the front desk to complain and then wait for them to clean my room. Awful!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Far short of what it used to be.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Forget it. Find another hotel.
Smelly, dark (no lights in the hall way) and a big disappointment. I didn't want to walk on the floors without shoes on. Water stains through out the room. The furniture was old and their surfaces were flaking. The TV remote was broken. I had to control the television from the controls on the side of the unit. Breakfast was leftovers better fitted for the trash. I would rather sleep in my car. Its cheaper and I wasted my money!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stroudsburg, PA

Don't believe the pictures

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Price was reasonable, and it wasn't too far from town.
Cons: Non-poolside rooms updated and maintained better. Update the dining room.
This is a tired facility in need of updating and better cleaning. The online pictures portray a more modern appearance. They do not show the outer loop rooms, the ones that haven't been updated and from what I could gather the ones offered on Expedia. Very worn, torn rug, i.e.: pile material missing, wallpaper pealing, paint on bathroom door scratched all over and thin coat of paint to start with, i.e.: it needed another coat of paint when it was originally painted. General cleanliness of the room seemed OK, although the dust behind the night stand on the baseboard hadn't been cleaned in quite some time, didn't dare look under the bed. Hall murals were torn-peeling off in spots, carpets were mauve/grey-very 1980's. Breakfast served in the restaurant was included and not bad, hot with enough choices. Again dated furnishings, and the carpet if not dirty then it was very stained. The main lobby and pool area looked nice, but you didn't check in there, you had to go to another hotel (much newer and "brighter") co-located on the property.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Cost and location
Cons: Everything needs updating. Decor appears to be 30 years old
Location: Good location
Visiting Gettysburg battlefields and local restaurants Had a great time Hotel was run down - decor VERY dated and worn. Patio door would not lock and room door jam was damaged
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fountain City, IN

Off of the beaten path

Posted Oct 25, 2017
i checked out the rooms on line. They looked very nice but the room we got was in need of redecorating. The carpet was very dirty and the room smelled musty.