Ratings based on 1,001 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not very good. Entire place smelled of moth balls!

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Very poor use of great American icon's name! It was not up to standards that most people would tolerate! Noisy, poor AC, beds only slightly comfortable. At one time, it might have been good: that time has passed! Needs a makeover, desperately!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2017 by Joe, Hotel Management
Thank you for your anonymous review. As the General Manager I want every guest to enjoy their stay so it disappoints me that you did not. Unfortunately though, other than a noisy, poor A/C you do not give me any reasons as to why you rated us a one out of five stars. While we admit we are an older hotel, our staff works very hard to provide a clean, comfortable, spacious and well appointed room while also providing great free breakfast and free dinner. Since you didn't mention any issues with any of that, I'm glad we could provide all that to you. I hope you enjoyed your time in Gettysburg. We appreciate your business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent value for the $

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Saves money on family meals. Efficient friendly staff. Decent beds.
Cons: Could have used a working laundry facilities.
Yes, the hotel was a bit dated, but when you consider the value that you get for a decent hotel, good, filling, all you can eat food (twice a day!) super friendly staff.... it was a terrific stay. It is a 5 -7 minute drive out of the heart of Gettysburg, but again, a super family affordable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Joe, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking time to post a review. You are correct we are an older hotel but our value is terrific! Staff works very hard to provide clean and comfortable rooms to our guests and the free dinner and free breakfast further enhance the stay. Unfortunately you are also correct that our Guest Laundry is not working. I hope to have to those machines repaired in the next 7 days. You would be amazed at the things we have pulled out of those machines! I hope you enjoyed your time in Gettysburg. We appreciate your business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted May 25, 2017
Very close to restaurant's and site seeing. Rooms were adequate but did not have refrigerator or microwave.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Joe, Hotel Management
Thank you for visiting Gettysburg and for staying with us. We do not promote that we have fridge and microwave, although a lot of rooms do have them. I hope you enjoyed your time in Gettysburg. We appreciate your business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

We are from Seattle. Loved our spacious room.

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Spacious room with comfortable bed and even two sinks
Cons: Not a thing
Location: Convenient to Gettysburg and major roads. Lovely setting also close to Eisenhower historical site
Great staff- room was an INCREDIBLE value. We were so surprised considering the rate. Both breakfast and dinner provided and only five minutes to Gettysburg battlefield.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Joe, Hotel Management
Hi Carla, Thank you so much for staying with us and for your nice review. Our staff works very hard to accommodate our guests. I hope you enjoyed your time in Gettysburg. We appreciate your business.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and musky smelling hotel

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: It's proximity to the Gettysburg Battle Grounds
Cons: Read above
I felt very uncomfortable at this hotel. The hotel was apparently built around 1972 and I did not see a whole lot of upkeep. The door entering the hotel from the side did not lock. The carpets throughout the hotel were stained and dirty. The chain lock on our door looked like it had been broken away from the door and just reattached without fixing the frame. I wore flip flops in the room because the carpet was dirty and sticky to the touch. Our traveling companions room did not have a refrigerator or microwave. TV reception was poor and often cut out on us. We were very dissapointed and will not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Joe, Hotel Management
Thank you for your anonymous review. While I admit we are an older hotel, I expect everything to be in working order and when I travel I expect nothing less. I apologize if things were sub-standard in your room. It disappoints me that you wouldn't bring it up to staff but you find it better to post a bad review. If you are unhappy with a hotel room the time to do something about it is when you are on the property. We do not advertise that we offer fridge and microwave in our rooms. I hope you enjoyed your time in Gettysburg. We appreciate your business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to our venue

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Very satisfying stay and we will stay again due to the very friendly staff and the value of the room plus meals.
Cons: We did experience issues with our electronic room keys not working and had to have them "reissued" 3 times.
Very comfortable hotel though you can tell it has been around for a while. Rooms were clean, hotel staff VERY accommodating , breakfast & dinner included in the very reasonable price of the room, and the meals were quite good. Indoor pool area quite impressive, though the pool was of no interest to us, and not very big.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by Joe, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. My apologies for your key issues. I'm glad you enjoyed the free meals you received with your room and hope you come visit us again. We appreciate your business.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worst hotel that my family has ever stayed at

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: That it was in close proximity of all of the Gettysburg attractions.
Cons: the whole place needs to be updated
Got bad vibes when checking in. Had issue with our card so we paid cash for the first night. 3 couples had problems when I was checking in, one water leaking in bathroom, one room smelled of smoke, and one never received maid service that day. When we walked in near our room it smelled musty and everything was very old. Our room is very outdated, paint peeling, ceiling looked like it would fall on us, older large tv. fingerprints all over mirrors, floors had not been vacuumed, powder cleaner on toilet had not been cleaned off, did not look as if room had been cleaned at all. when i pulled back the blanket there were bugs crawling on the bed. My children did not even want to sleep in the beds. I thought that we would save money by staying here as you get free breakfast and dinner. Not so, dinner was overcooked rotini pasta and red sauce with very dry rolls. Breakfast started at 7am and went until 10am. we arrived for breakfast about 7:15 and they were out of bacon, the baked goods were minimal, i asked if they had spray for the waffle maker and i was told they ran out. When i asked if they would be bringing out more bacon he said he would check, but none ever came out. The pool had been renovated in March, but when we went int to check it out there were piles of paint chips all over and the bottom of the pool was missing paint as well. Lisa at the front desk kept rolling her eyes at me and was very rude and unhelpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by Joe, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for anonymously sharing your experience. It certainly is not the type of experience I would want at a hotel. It sounds like you told Lisa at check out about your experience, which I appreciate it, but why wouldn't you notify someone immediately if there really were bugs on your sheets as you say? Next time, rather than let your kids sleep in those conditions, notify hotel staff right away. I expect all of our guests to feel they received a great value for their money. My apologies for any legitimate issues you encountered. I hope you were able to enjoy your time in Gettysburg. There is so much to see and do. We appreciate your business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fenwick Island, DE

I would go back

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: The staff,,,,and the comfort and convenience of everything and although we did not take advantage of it...they offer breakfast and dinner.
Cons: Coffee in the Lobby bottom bed sheets and make sure the hair dryers work.
Location: There is plenty to do nearby. The battlefields, shopping and we found a really neat mini golf. And Dobbins Restaurant right down the street.
The staff was awesome! We asked to be moved to a different room as the one we were in was in need of some serious updating...hair dryer didn't work, coffee pot didn't work , paper pealing on walls. They moved us to another room that was in much better condition. The bed was very comfy. But bottom sheet and mattress cover wouldn't stay on the bed. I would suggest that you switch coffee in the lobby as it was not good at all . After saying all of this ...I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Joe, Hotel Management
Hi Linda & Gerry, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. My apologies about the hair dryer, you and I talked when you checked out, and that has already been replaced. You're correct, we are an older hotel and you may find peeling wallpaper, but our hotel is clean and we offer the best value in Gettysburg. No where else will you get a clean, comfortable room along with free dinner and free breakfast. I hope you enjoyed your time in Gettysburg. We appreciate your business.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointed!!

Posted Apr 30, 2017
no staff person at the registration desk when we arrived; person showed up about 5-7 minutes later; person seemed to have a bit of an attitude. no staff person at the desk when we left in the morning about 8:30 a.m.; also very disappointed that there were no grab-rails in the bathroom. This should be mandatory in all hotels for older people (of which I am one) and those with some type of disability.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Joe, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your anonymous review. My apologies our agent stepped away from the desk for a few minutes to assist another guest. We have rooms with grab rails but not every room has them. A simple request would have been fulfilled. Since I read the things you were not happy with I'm happy to notice that your room must have been clean, spacious, comfortable and well appointed and that free dinner and free breakfast were enjoyed by every one in your party. I hope you enjoyed seeing the many sites of Historic Gettysburg. We appreciate your business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Food was good the staff was very helpful and courteous good location
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Joe, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We appreciate your business.