Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A wonderful step back in history.

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
A wonderful bit of history close enough to town but even better for battlefield tour and new information center. Very welcoming innkeepers, period decor, history of the farm well researched and available. Also available nature walks. Very well pleased in every way and would definely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2016
This was a very nice place to stay, and the owners were super friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superb

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Everything about the Lightner Farmhouse was excellent: the hosts, the breakfasts, the cleanliness, the surroundings.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
The owners of the home were friendly, the home was lovely and the perfect distance from town. A very enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Full of history and grace

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
You are welcomed immediately with great sense of comfort and grace. It is indeed a place we shall return to sometime in the future. There were a plethora of informational booklets as well as civil war artifacts and articles to review and enjoy. The sitting room downstairs - a common room - was so enjoyable. It is almost tempting to sit and walk about the grounds as to go to nearby historical sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

B and B used for Gettysburg field hospital

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Cons: In the Birch room, the overhead fan was ticking so we turned it off.
Location: We hired a private guide at the NPS visitor center and had a great tour in our car by the expert tour guide.
The Lightner farm and farmhouse were used as a field hospital for union wounded soldiers during and after the Gettysburg civil war battle. As a civil war buff we thoroughly enjoyed the farmhouse as part of our Gettysburg visit. The owners, the Hoovers, were very hospitable and provide delicious breakfasts. I recommend this 1862 farmhouse as a place to stay during your civil war battle tours and experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth W from Winston-Salem, NC

Perfect location!

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
Staying at the Lightner Farmhouse added some real context and depth to visiting Gettysburg. We benefitted from a short history talk by a local expert about the effect of the battle on local farmers and townspeople. The house is beautiful and the owners were wonderful.
5 out of 5
by Mary Anna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels