Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

B and B used for Gettysburg field hospital

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Cons: In the Birch room, the overhead fan was ticking so we turned it off.
Location: We hired a private guide at the NPS visitor center and had a great tour in our car by the expert tour guide.
The Lightner farm and farmhouse were used as a field hospital for union wounded soldiers during and after the Gettysburg civil war battle. As a civil war buff we thoroughly enjoyed the farmhouse as part of our Gettysburg visit. The owners, the Hoovers, were very hospitable and provide delicious breakfasts. I recommend this 1862 farmhouse as a place to stay during your civil war battle tours and experience.
5 out of 5
by Mary Anna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Gem from History

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
This was a lovely B&B which was over 150 years old. The owners take pride in maintaining the history in addition to understanding modern day comforts. Breakfast was excellent, and the owners make everyone feel welcome.
5 out of 5
by Charles L from Florida

Great place to stay

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient to Battlefield. Great atmosphere since farm was a Union hospital. Hosts were very friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful country setting near Gettysburg

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Everything
Our room was spacious & clean. We have stayed in over 100 bed & breakfast locations & this was the best. Quality bed, great food and a wonderful walking trail down to a beautiful creek were part of this amazing treat. Family running Inn was very helpful in planning our activities and understanding the history of this Civil War Hospital and the 3 day battle of Gettysburg. 5 star Bed & Breakfast. Bob & Karen Pomplun Inverness IL.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay at a charmingly historic B&B

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
We had a lovely stay at the Lightner Farmhouse. The property and house are rich with Civil War history, and the décor and ambience reflect that. The owners are very personable and made us feel welcome. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. We would certainly return to this B&B with the caveat that we would request a 2nd or 3rd floor room. The first floor "Cedar Room" - while perfectly lovely - has the unfortunate position of hearing everything that is going on in the B&B both on the first floor, the basement, and the room above. When the room above flushes the toilet, showers, runs the sink or does anything water-related, it sounds like Niagara Falls gushing right above you! This did not deter our overall feeling about the property, of course.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Experience!!!

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Location: It's just 2 miles from town which was PERFECT. It was quiet and had the beautiful rolling hills and country setting the downtown B&Bs couldn't offer.
Dennis, Eileen and Jason ensured our stay at their B&B was fantastic! They greeted us with smiles, gave a great tour of their beautiful B&B, and made a wonderful breakfast! We truly felt like honored guests in their home. It was a wonderful experience. The B&B was very clean. We stayed in the attic and it fit our family of 4 adults perfect. The many deep window seats filled with fluffy, welcoming pillows called my name! I spent a couple hours snuggled up by the window reading. Heaven! The ambiance of the home built in the 1800s was PERFECT after spending the day at the Gettysburg Museum and Battlefield. Eileen has made many history books of their B&B. Reading about the people that lived in the house over 100 years ago was just amazing. Staying here added to the Gettysburg experience in a way I never had expected. Next time we visit, we will certainly stay at the Lightner B&B!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Eileen was wonderful, super enthusiastic about our stay and very warm and welcoming. We'll definitely go back. I also must mention breakfast was absolutely delicious!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: The houses character and that it was off the beaten path.
Cons: The beds were hard.
Location: Gettysburg!
This was our first b&b, and we enjoyed. I enjoyed most the owner. She was pleasant and had good information about the area. The stories of the house were nice. The room was ok. It had stairs, which I found not to be all that great. Especially in the middle of the night. I would go back, but request a different room. It was definitely worth the stay!
5 out of 5
by William from USA

Wonderful Place to Stay in Gettysburg

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
This is a beautiful B and B in historic Gettysburg. The owners are very hospitable, the bed comfortable, the shower worked well and the breakfast was delicious. Due to the construction of the farmhouse the rooms are tight, not much room for luggage and only one chair. But, there is a great room and a reading room so there are plenty of places to sit. They have outdoor walking paths for those who want to get some exercise.