Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Donald from Michigan

Live Like the Wealthy

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
If you are interested in the History of the area and you want to be pampered, this is your place to stay. We stayed in probably their largest suite (32' x 24' plus a large luxurious bathroom). A great gourmet, specially-prepared breakfast was included in the price (they even called us before our arrival to ask about our dietary restrictions!).MUST STAY PLACE! We will be back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fonda, NY

A Step Back in Time

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Hotel is close to Gettysburg, PA. Also, we took a day trip to Washington, DC, which wasn't a bad ride from there. Loved the history of the area.
Cons: Please consider putting a small refrigerator on the third floor. There is one on the 2nd, but we stayed on the third floor.
Location: Pretzel factory right in town, Gettysburg is close.
We loved this historic home! Rooms are beautifully decorated in the period in which it was built - 1913. Every room is well-maintained, and manager took us on a tour of the rooms. Beautiful architecture and details that are not used in today's homes. There is even a case on the third floor filled with artifacts from the family that owned the house in 1913 - clothing, shoes, handbags, hats, etc. Their portraits are still on the walls throughout the house. Breakfast was delicious! Everything was made fresh and garnished with seasonal fruit and even edible flowers. Beautiful presentation as well as great tasting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington State

beautiful mansion, "as was", very well maintained

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: So authentic. It is gratifying to find a family that can trace its roots to the 17th century, and maintains its records accordingly.
Cons: Heating is centrally controlled. The first night it was over 80F in our room (Suite Ayres), and the temperature kept rising. I had to open the windows
Location: Main attraction is the Gettysburg battle field, a must see for all Americans, in particularly anybody with an interest in history such as myself
The mansion is currently as it was when the family that still owns it inhabited it. Personal memorabilia, pictures, books, etc. Very well maintained, comfortable, roomy, quiet. Breakfast was delicious. It is gratifying to find a family that can trace its roots to the 17th century, and maintains its records accordingly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Sheppard Mansion - A very good place to stay.

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Friendly staff and willing to determine what I might need. Comfortable room and bed, very large room with a good chair to sit and read. Good shower with lots of room. Nicely prepared breakfast. Overall much better than a stay in a local chain hotel. Renovation work on the front porch had no significant impact on noise of access to the Inn. Will stay there again next time I am in town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Duryea, PA

Anniversary weekend

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Pros: The mansion was beautifully preserved, clean and comfortable.
Location: Nearby restaurants and close proximity to Gettysburg attractions.
Lovely mansion with interesting history. Sharon, our hostess, treated everyone like old family friends. She was very informative and helpful and kept things running smoothly. She was also an excellent cook! The room was very clean and comfortable. We had a wonderful experience at the mansion, and would highly recommend it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Patrick from Toronto, OH

Picnic Weekend

Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay, breakfast was excellent both days. Innkeeper was cordial and informative.
5 out of 5
by Rebecca from Helensburgh

Good location for Gettysburg

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
Really enjoyed our stay here. Innkeeper Sharon took care of us really well and provided great breakfast selections.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fernandina Beach, Fl.

Beautiful old home now a B &B

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: The beauty of the building and the friendliness of the staff
Cons: Can't think of a thing
Location: Was close to the square, the center of the downtown area; not far to Gettysburg
Clean, spacious room with original to the home bedroom furniture, a spacious, clean bath
5 out of 5
by Richard from Brooklyn, NY

Great Weekend at the Mansion

Posted Jun 11, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights as an Anniversary gift during a family visit to Hanover, Pa. and we felt it lived up to it's billing as a Mansion. Breakfast was outstanding and the service was superb. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.