Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Convenient but needs renovation

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Price, location and included breakfast all good.
Cons: This hotels needs renovation - looks worn. Room had a stale smell. Window difficult to open and no air conditioning (hot at night).
Location: Five min walk from station and on decent street. Tram stop outside - 10 min ride into old town. 10 min walk to art museum.
Stayed at Hotel Chamade for long weekend in July. Chose for location near station and tram access to old town. Also chose on price but had to put up with certain amount of noise (other rooms) and no air conditioning which meant night not very comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
was in room 307....and had no a/c....so had to open a window and it was bit loud...but I was offered a fan thou
4 out of 5
by Jonathan

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
A very good base from which to explore Ghent and via the nearby station, Antwerp and the coast. Very enjoyable short holiday. The city centre is easily accessed by the tram that stops right outside the hotel door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the train station

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Close to train station
Location: We didn't find the area around the hotel to be very nice, but the tram runs right in front of the hotel and takes you to the city center.
The room was clean and pleasant, within walking distance of train station. The tram to city center was very convenient, but we just walked - maybe 20 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfort in ghent

Posted May 22, 2017 on Orbitz
Cons: Wifi
Location: There is a self service laundromat across the street and down abt 1 block that was clean and had well working machines.
We liked this hotel mostly due to its convenience to train st. We used it as base for exploring Bruges and Ghent. You just hop on tram in front of hotel to go up into central of old Ghent. We had basic room which had good bed, nice bathroom of medium size. Roomy as far as European hotel rooms go. Clean. Only complaint was that wifi was down in whole hotel for 2 days. Pretty insane. I would definitely advise them to change internet providers soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best Western Chamade

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was perfect, staff is friendly and helpful, breakfast was delicious. Good location opposite central train station. Good eats near hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel central good for a base to travel about

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and excellent breakfast.
Cons: Maybe if they know when late guests are checking in have someone on the desk to greet them so that the noise and disturbance can be kept to a minimum.
Location: Close to station and tram line just outside, easy to get around and in to the centre of Ghent.
Overall our stay at this hotel was good apart from Thursday and Friday night when noisy guests came in very late in the morning and made a load of noise. No receptionist at night after 11pm so hard to control. Due respect to the management they have emailed us and apologised again for the disturbance and given us a refund on part of our stay. Yes I would stay again, place was clean, tidy and breakfast was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grantham, England

Nice hotel close to transport links

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: The location and cleanliness are best. A good continental breakfast.
Cons: The room was a bit cold and the thermostat didn't seem to work
Location: About 25 minute walk to Ghent centre but there is a tram stop outside and for 3 euro you will be in the centre in about ten minutes.
This is a great stopover location either for Brussels or if visiting Ghent. Its located near to the railway (but not next door) and there is a tram stop adjacent if travelling into Ghent centre.
5 out of 5
by Louise

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Clean and tidy hotel and rooms, staff that go above and beyond to help. Tram link right outside the door, underground parking if you book ahead and they have space. Breakfast was buffet (hot and cold) and was amazing! We WILL be coming back here, it is worth every penny!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to area I was visiting

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Hotels.com had failed to make the reservation at the hotel when I booked it in August. If I did not have a mobile with me to call the UK HQ I would have still been standing in reception as the receptionist was not interested in any of my paperwork showing the confirmation. Lucky they had two rooms available. Pillows on the bed were not to my liking, too thick and square lick a cushion. I was so tired though after walking all day around the lovely city I soon fell asleep. No where to dry a wet coat also had trouble drying some wet socks. Other than these issues a nice hotel