Ratings based on 756 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent england

Nice hotel close to centre

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Rooms very comfy, location very good, concierge was extremely helpful.
Cons: Check in and speed of bar service
Location: Location was very good, boat rides just outside hotel castle around the corner was central to everything
Nice hotel close to centre check in was poor but the rooms were good, parking a bit expensive and the service in the bar was slow but would stay there again 😀
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Egham, Surrey

Great location and fantastic staff! Fantastic!!

Posted Dec 3, 2017
I went to the Marriott for a girlie break with my mother and daughter, the hotel is amazing and spotless, the staff make every effort to make you enjoy your stay and the location is amazing! Such a beautiful location and a fantastic hotel!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Quiet and well located.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Location and cleanliness.
Cons: Sheets! There is nothing but a very warm down comforter that is way, way too hot most of the time. I had the choice of burning up or having no cover.
My room was very clean and quiet. Good wifi. Hot shower. Plenty of storage options. Nice public areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

A great hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Good bar, great restaurant. Helpful and pleasant staff.
Cons: No "High Wine" experience, due to being on my own. Disappointing. Staff not well trained.
Location: Great central location.
My stay here was most pleasant. I arrived too early for check-in, but the concierge took care of my bags and suggested a number of things to do during the day until I would be able to check in. The location is great, close to the centre of town. I wanted to do the "High Wine" experience - Ghent Marriott's answer to High Tea. I was told that it was only available for couples or two people. I was travelling on my own. Nowhere on their signage do they indicate that this is the case. This was disappointing. The staff member was not terribly helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oskaloosa, Iowa

American hotel close to historic district

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable, large rooms.
Cons: Less generic decor and more accurate advertising of its location.
Location: It's within a block of the main canal-street historic district. There's shopping, beautiful picturesque views, restaurants, etc.
The hotel is clean, well-staffed, conveniently located. However, it's quite Americanized (as we expected) and our experiences at European hotels were much less generic. The rooms at Marriott were clean and large but had cheap finishes and no view. The website makes it seem as though this hotel faces the city center and the canal, but it just faces brick walls. There is no exit onto the canal street.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, outstanding city!

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
Ghent is an amazing city. A best kept secret of Europe. The hotel is right in the middle of city Centre. Literally steps from all of the major attractions of Ghent (shops, castles, historic churches, the waterway, restaurants, etc). We never needed a car!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location, good room size, happy stay

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Highly recommend this hotel when in Ghent! Would absolutely stay again! Great hotel and staff. Rooms are very good size. Only downside is breakfast buffet at 25 euros each is quite pricey for the offering so we didn't eat there.
5 out of 5
by William T

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Darren

Fantastic

Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing hotel in an amazing location with amazing staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London. UK

Hotel in Perfect Location

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Excellent welcome from hotel staff. Very friendly and informative. Staff had a good sense of humour and were quick to attend to us. Room was excellent. Perfect size for the three of us. Would have preferred a canal view from our window but it wasn't essential as a quick lift to the ground floor and a short walk out of the hotel got us to the fabulous waterside view. Hotel perfectly placed to get to the sights of Ghent. We made use of a well equipped gym. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay.