Ratings based on 417 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Good hotel, great location

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Goood hotel, close to the highway. Large rooms, good breakfast. The adjoining bar and restaurant was very convent and very good, I was pleased to find that open on Sunday evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gent, Belgium

Great hotel highly recommend.

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Really friendly hotel, with easy public access to Gent city centre. Really spacious rooms with comfy beds, extremely clean too. Breakfast was really good, self service in a very relaxed atmosphere. Will definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Philip

Excellent care and service.

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were most helpful.
4 out of 5
by lucy

Posted Sep 26, 2017 on Hotels
Nice clean modern hotel. Comfortable rooms. Breakfast selection good. Bus stop outside hotel takes you to Ghent centre in 10 minutes & costs 3 euros. Note there are no restaurants or shops local to hotel. Food in hotel restaurant expensive. Try eating in the bar - slightly cheaper.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wimbledon

Comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2017
We just wanted a hotel for a single night and this was good value. The beds had both a hard and soft pillow. We enjoyed drinks and a couple of snacks in the bar. The breakfast was good. Cost of the parking was a little steep especially considering how far out of the centre the hotel is. Overall I was very happy with our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Laurens Roels, Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Brian Thank you for staying with us during your stay in Gent. We appreciate your feedback and it's nice to read that you had a good stay. Regarding the parking: it is correct that a fee applies for use of the secured car park with barrier access. However, at the same time, a tasty breakfast is included in your rate free of charge. This saves you between 14-22 eur per person per night compared to other 3* hotels in the area. Do check the total cost of your stay and you will see that Holiday Inn Express was a very smart choice in Gent
4 out of 5
by Margueritte

Nothing fancy but convenient

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
The accommodations were good but not what I paid for. The clerk said that she told Hotels.com that the rooms did not have sofa beds two months ago.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

Close to major road

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Staff very courteous and friendly. Need better variety of food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Laurens Roels, Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest Thank you for staying with us in Gent. We think that excellent service is very important, and we're delighted that you confirm that we are on the right track. In terms of the food options in the Brasserie, we have worked with a limited summer menu in July and August. From next Monday Sep 4th onwards you can enjoy the full menu again. See you next time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Nice hotel, great location for Ghent, Bruges and B

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Good location, clean and tidy, fast efficient staff, nice breakfast, large room with comfy beds, perfectly adequate for all our needs. Staff were very helpful and set us up well for visiting Ghent. Car park was a little pricey, mosquitos a problem in the area but staff equipped us with plug in device. Would stay again for sure.
5 out of 5
by Maria

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent friendly service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice clean hotel close to the highway

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: We loved the proximity to the highway and the easy access to the old center of Ghent.
Cons: Have a pool and a restaurant on site
Location: The location is good for tourists on the go. Unfortunately there is nothing to do within walking distance or any restaurant for dinner.
We had a very good experience. The hotel was very clean and the room spacious with very comfortable beds and air conditioning. The breakfast was very good offering a variety that could satisfy any tastes. We stayed 3 nights and found it perfect for visiting Ghent and travel around the area.