Ratings based on 382 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Only stayed for one night but hotel comfortable and ideal to visit the city. Main city sights within easy walking distance. Tram from the station stopped outside the hotel which could be useful,although with 4 travellers it was cheaper for us to share the cost of a taxi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from london

Good position, small rooms

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Position
Cons: Larger rooms. Should have a fridge and safe in rooms
Location: 10 min walk from town centre
Brilliant position, 10 min walk from centre, with tram stop to station just outside. Rooms very small. I was on my own, so no problem, but far too small for two people. However, very cleverly designed to maximise use of the limited space
5 out of 5
by Nancy

Good experience

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Good location right at a tram stop. Great breakfast. The AC couldn't keep up with the high heat though, and wouldn't go below 20 degrees. I asked for it to be changed and it could not, or the staff wouldn't check. Nice to have free coffee at the reception area. Odd that this is the only place I've been asked for my passport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017
Thanks for staying with us, we work hard to make our guests happy. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for the price

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Comfy budget hotel, an easy 5 minute walk to the town centre, free underground parking for our motorbikes. Can't fault it at the price and will use it again happily.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017
Thanks for staying with us, we work hard to make our guests happy. We appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: This is a lovely hotel ideal location. A short walk from the centre.
Cons: Unfortunately, there wasn't a compliments tray of tea or coffee which was a shame, but there is an accessible bar and food is available for 24 hours.
Location: A great location. Near to the centre. A tram stop both ways outside. A 10 minute walk to the centre and to the see the sights of a beautiful city.
The room was a decent size, though the bathroom was a bit tight, but manageable. There were toiletries and towels available in the room and also a hairdryer if required. The wardrobe was quite small but adequate for us. The wifi was excellent and once we had accessed it, there was no problem in re-joining it every time we walked back into the hotel. Arriving into Gent St Pieters railway station you can get on a tram which stops directly outside the hotel. Numbers 1, 21, and 22 will get you there, it is approximately 6 stops away. The Hotel reception is staffed 24 hours and the staff on reception were all very nice, helpful and friendly. There is an accessible bar and food is available for 24 hours and if you want an early breakfast it's available from 4am.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Patriek Deruddere | General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, All of us at ibis Gent Centrum Opera would like to offer our sincere thanks for your delightful review. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
by Mandy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Rather basic hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Not my usual style of hotel: when I arrived it was full of tri-athletes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by General Manager ibis Gent Centrum Opera, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Gent Centrum Opera. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, helpful staff

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Well located for Ghent's three must-see's: The Altarpiece, the Fine Arts Museum, and the charming central area near Gravensteen Castle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Patriek Deruddere | General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We were thrilled to read your 5 star review about our hotel. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Stayed one nite..Nice bar tho not open till 5pm..Smaller rooms than usual Ibis..Clean and tidy..10 min walk to centre..Parked around corner in public car park..15 euro for 24hrs
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, All of us at ibis Gent Centrum Opera would like to offer our sincere thanks for your delightful review. Kind regards,
3 out of 5
by Ramon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels