Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from plymouth england

Can you get closer to animals???

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Amazing
Cons: No
Location: Just stayed at hotel/park
AMAZING. A new marine park underway. Its a long way from uk but will return to see this. Wonderful! 10,10,10!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant Experience

Posted Oct 19, 2016
You will see animals from your room. You will see animals from the pool. The price of your room includes entry into the park. This place is awesome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SGP

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Everything is good except the BBQ dinner which is quite mediocre considering it is USD 35 for some chicken wings, beef patty and hot dogs. I would t call this a BBQ dinner at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Too expensive for what it is.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Good things: - most staffs are friendly - the safari car comes almost right away as soon as i called for one. - my room had an amazing view of animals, and had a chance to feed zebras from the balcony! Not-so-great things: - wifi wasn't working in our room at all. When i asked the front desk, they said it's on maintenance and do not know when it's going to be working. It didn't work until i leave the lodge. - i wasnt really satisfied with the bbq dinner that comes with the night safari. Sausages were undercooked, roasted beef was one of the most rubber-like meat i had in a while. There's no quality in the dinner, so I recommend to opt out bbq dinner. - I found a hair in nasi goreng during breakfast buffet. I called a server to let them know, but no apology, no action taken. They still served the same badge during the entire breakfast time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Amazing once in a lifetime place!

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Me an my partner stayed here for one night in a 17 night trip around Bali. We were going to the safari park so thought we'd stay in the lodge. The room was lovely with a big bed facing the double doors to the balcony which is where the magic happened! Off our balcony we were right above the zebras, ostriches, wilderbeast and even a rhino and it's baby. Seperated by just a little river, It was amazing! The staff left food in our room to throw over to the animals who came right up and ate it and the elephant safari walked past our balcony and the elephants would wait for us to chuck carrots out! This one one of my fave places of our whole trip. Although we found the safari and night safari really expensive we didn't really need to do them when they were right outside our room! The pool was lovely too, infinity pool and the rhino and her baby was just on the other side so you could see them grazing while you swam. The restaurant is also based on the other side of the glass to the lions den which is again a great experience. Only thing I would say is that it's pretty far out in terms of location from anything else so you couldn't stay for too long or you'd get bored. We prefer to have choice of bars and restaurants around to choose from. 1-2 nights is enough
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

Extraordinary Resort, Once in a Lifetime Experienc

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Unique experience, great programming with all the activities, up close and personal with the animals, including inches from hungry lionesses & tigers
Cons: It took us half an hour to checkout; definitely should look at express checkout option. Pricing can be confusing between website and Expedia's
Location: The Lodge is located within the Safari. We rented a taxi to Ubud town on our last day. Plenty of activities and things to do within the Safari
Celebrated our anniversary at this resort; called and emailed the resort in advance; reservations staff are fantastic. They had decorated our suite, reserved our special table at the restaurant looking directly at the lions, etc. Enjoyed the safari before opening hours to the public and after the park is closed to the public. Room rate does not include all the activities, such as elephant rides. A bit expensive in Balinese standards but worth every penny. Bed was so comfortable, and waking up to the roar of the lions, trumpeting of the elephants and zebras gazing outside of your suite was definitely an unforgettable experience. They even provide carrots in the room to feed the animals gazing outside of our suite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Simply amazing

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Hotel room was nice, room view of Safari park is a special bonus. Hotel pool is amazing, again with views of the Safari park. The reaturaunt on site has great views of the Lion enclosure, Breakfast is the best meal of the day with the Male Lions being very active. Highly recommend staying at least a night here for a full Safari experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

A Birthday gift for a mate

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Our party of two couples stayed at Mara River for one night, it was great. We did the entire range of park activities including Night Safari. The rooms were very nice after a big day. Restaurant has a wonderful outlook and the food and service was great. Recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south australia

Good fun..something different

Posted Jan 25, 2015
We stayed 2 days over there. Really different experience. They tried best to feel like safari. Rides in park is joke so don't waste time. Mosquitos are big problem need to provide sprey and repellant. Overal good fun
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wollongong AUST

Enjoyed my stay

Posted Jan 22, 2015
We, 1 adult 2 teenagers stayed 3 days 2 nights in Tandala, very impressed with atmosphere of lodge, however bathroom smelt & lots if mosquitoes as door didn't seal properly. Wifi was for 1 person only. Staff & all restaurants food excellent, fire dancers awesome. had a package which included night safari which was extremely disappointing, went for 15min tops, told it would take 30mins. Went to tigers which jumped on cage for maybe 1 min & we went, more time should be spent at this location. Enjoyed being able to touch & photos with orangutan, lion, birds, lizards and snakes. Overall I enjoyed my stay but wouldn't go back.