Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Under construction, too noisy Lo cation near train station
4 out of 5
by Michael from Berlin

Worth it for the breakfast.

Posted Nov 29, 2015 on Hotels
The front desk was helpful and used to guests traveling to Gießen for business, and check-in was easy. The room itself (a single bed), was very small and felt more like a dorm room, not exactly the Hyatt Grand, but everything was clean. The furniture in the room was simple but had clearly been put in semi-recently, and although the bathroom was tiny it was very functional. I'd call the room as a whole utilitarian, with the exception of the television. I just needed a place to stay for work in Gießen for a night, so it was ideal. The real gem, however, is the breakfast buffet. The whole hotel seems to have a tension between a little shabby and seemingly once very fancy, but the breakfast was all class. A huge 'German' breakfast of breads and meats and cheeses and spreads and fruits, with joghurt and cereal and coffee, and even scrambled eggs and sausage patties for us Amis. I'd stay there again just for the complimentary breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely room

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Very good hotel. Central to the town. Good breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by richard from Cambridge

Basic but adequate

Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels
I booked this room for a couple of nights on business. It is situated next to the main train station and like a lot of other hotels in Germany quite basic in style. I had a single room which was perfectly adequate for my requirements. Not particularly noisy, car parking and the breakfast is to be recommended. I found the hotel worked well for my needs. I would certainly use it again
4 out of 5
by Henrique from Edinburgh

Good hotel. Nice for an overnight stay.

Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel for an overnight stay. I was on a long trip and just needed to stop for the night. It was a good call. Nice hotel in this situation. Well located.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average facility. Good value for the money.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Good location. Lady who checked me in was not very friendly or helpful Later in the day a better person at teh desk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
The only really good thing was the breakfast! The internet is not working in the room and everything is old and the smell in the room is awful.
2 out of 5
by Henry from Rugby

Not again

Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels
First night well received by reception and parking area allocated. Room clean with no coffee facilities and threadbare towels.Second night well received but placed in another room. No water or soft drink and a more threadbare towel. Wake-up service 1 hour early 03h45 instead of 04h45
3 out of 5
by Bruce A from Calgary

Too noisy

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent breakfast, older hotel. Only problem was the noise which carries in the hotel.