Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Markham, On

Poor ethics

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: The one receptionist who was honest.
Cons: Our non smoking room smelled of smoke. They ran out of food an hour before breakfast was to be over.
Location: there was a few good restaurants a close drive away.
Since we booked at a particularly high volume time we decided to call a couple days prior to our arrival and make sure that the room we booked 6 months prior was indeed confirmed. We were then told that we had no booking and that the room rate was triple due to high demand. We told them our booking info they still insisted there was no booking. We asked to speak to a manager and were told none was available. We called back at the time we were told a manager would be there and were again told we had no booking and there was no manager. We risked going to our hotel the day of the booking after contacting our booking company and getting assured we had a booking. The receptionist told us again we had no booking but was willing to give us a room since we had all the paperwork. She spent an hour calling the booking company and her system support and getting them to figure it out. She was not the one we talked to originally who said we'd have to pay triple. But obviously there is someone working there that thought they could rip us off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waupun, WI

Great place

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Nothing, you guys got it!
Location: If you are a rail fan, this the place!
Although dated from the outside I was was surprised on the great room. Spacious, very clean and as a special little thing there was a towel formed into the shape of a goose. Very cool. Bed was very comfy and PM staff very friendly! Excellent stay. Would certainly stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Kristi Halbrook, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We love hearing from our guests! This is the kind of review that keeps our staff working hard and going the extra mile. Thank you for staying with us and we're very excited that you had a wonderful experience. Please come see us again the next time you are in Gillette.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay in Gillette

Posted Oct 17, 2017
I'm always treated nice by the staff and the place is safe and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Kristi Halbrook, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for yourkind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our staff take great pride in our hotel and the service we provide. I will make sure to pass your comments on to them. It was truly our pleasure to serve you, andwe look forward to welcoming you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Hotels
It was a very nice stay. Quiet and convenient. Would stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review. When a guest says they would stay with us again it is one of the highest compliments we can be given in our book. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our property and staff. We hope to see you again soon. Kristi Halbrook General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bozeman

Nice

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Clean room easy access to restraints late at night. Good breakfast. Nice shower.
4 out of 5
by Rebecca

Ok

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
Not bad affordable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not my favorite place

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
It was hard to find in the first place with GPS. Then my room was mixed up with another person potentially being on the room. Then my room was on the back of the building where it's not well lit. Luckily I had a few gentlemen drinking and smoking like 100 ft away outside a bar/strip club. Being a solo female traveler, that made me feel uneasy. The famous blue shower was a treat. However the heavy water stains on the shower head made me not want to take a shower.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY area

One inconvenience ,,,,after another

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Consideration of normal customer needs in the summer
Location: Bad GPS loc. needs a Street address rather than a highway.
Owner not around when we arrived late; Poor lady at desk couldn't work the credit card register; said boss had not really trained her thoroughly ; asked me if I could give her my credit card # and would register it when the owner returned later from "Spearfish" (about 90 miles away across the state line?); she said he'd be back by ten; I said when he comes back we could complete the transaction; by this time , we had become friends since she very nicely unstopped the toilet in one of the two rooms we were using ( the clogging was definitely due to a preexisting condition"); so I wrote the number on a tiny piece of paper which she promised would be destroyed the next day; it was......... in addition to my intention of ever staying there again; air conditioning also did not work; slim pickens for breakfast.
1 out of 5
by Joseph

Horrible...dont wast your money

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
Room had bugs..no hot water... tv did not work..staff was extremely rude..drugs and prostitution was obvious... Room smelled like urine... I WOULD NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels