Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waupun, WI

Great place

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Nothing, you guys got it!
Location: If you are a rail fan, this the place!
Although dated from the outside I was was surprised on the great room. Spacious, very clean and as a special little thing there was a towel formed into the shape of a goose. Very cool. Bed was very comfy and PM staff very friendly! Excellent stay. Would certainly stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Kristi Halbrook, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We love hearing from our guests! This is the kind of review that keeps our staff working hard and going the extra mile. Thank you for staying with us and we're very excited that you had a wonderful experience. Please come see us again the next time you are in Gillette.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay in Gillette

Posted Oct 17, 2017
I'm always treated nice by the staff and the place is safe and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Kristi Halbrook, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for yourkind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our staff take great pride in our hotel and the service we provide. I will make sure to pass your comments on to them. It was truly our pleasure to serve you, andwe look forward to welcoming you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bozeman

Nice

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Clean room easy access to restraints late at night. Good breakfast. Nice shower.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not my favorite place

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
It was hard to find in the first place with GPS. Then my room was mixed up with another person potentially being on the room. Then my room was on the back of the building where it's not well lit. Luckily I had a few gentlemen drinking and smoking like 100 ft away outside a bar/strip club. Being a solo female traveler, that made me feel uneasy. The famous blue shower was a treat. However the heavy water stains on the shower head made me not want to take a shower.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY area

One inconvenience ,,,,after another

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Consideration of normal customer needs in the summer
Location: Bad GPS loc. needs a Street address rather than a highway.
Owner not around when we arrived late; Poor lady at desk couldn't work the credit card register; said boss had not really trained her thoroughly ; asked me if I could give her my credit card # and would register it when the owner returned later from "Spearfish" (about 90 miles away across the state line?); she said he'd be back by ten; I said when he comes back we could complete the transaction; by this time , we had become friends since she very nicely unstopped the toilet in one of the two rooms we were using ( the clogging was definitely due to a preexisting condition"); so I wrote the number on a tiny piece of paper which she promised would be destroyed the next day; it was......... in addition to my intention of ever staying there again; air conditioning also did not work; slim pickens for breakfast.
1 out of 5
by Joseph

Horrible...dont wast your money

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
Room had bugs..no hot water... tv did not work..staff was extremely rude..drugs and prostitution was obvious... Room smelled like urine... I WOULD NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mary

Howard Johnson is a good place to stay.

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was very friendly. My room was in the back of the hotel and was very quiet. A big plus was the ac. Also, the hotel was in walking distance to restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by Debby, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, Thank you for staying with us, We are happy that you enjoy your stay. Thank you for your feedback . Looking forward to welcome you back. Regards, Debby Simpson
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Nice location, easy to find

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Nice place to stay and I would stay there again. I was in Gillette working.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Wyoming

A bit dated, but clean

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Easy to find. Reasonably priced
Bg room, comfortable bed, polite staff. I haven't seen a turquoise tub and shower in many years!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Debby Simspon, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/madam, Thank you for staying with us, We worked hard to make our guests happy. Your review had been share with all of our staff including the owner. they promise to work even harder now and the owner has an idea to make some future remodeling plan, thank you for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back. Regards, Debby Simpson