Ratings based on 345 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value for the money

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great value for the money. Nice staff, nice rooms, conveniently located.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Anonymous for your amazing 5 stars! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Old, needing maintenance.

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Pool, hot tub, sauna and handicap lift for pool area.
Cons: It is an older facility and cleanliness left A LOT to be desired.
1st room had not been cleaned, 2nd room was acceptable but no AC... they upgraded us to a suite (which was mediocre) and was still almost to hot to sleep in... we slept with the balcony door open.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Anonymous
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 9, 2016
The front desk was almost never staffed. The bed frame was broken so we had to move rooms. There was a fire alarm that beeped every 2 to 3 minutes in the hallway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you fro taking the time to give us a review. We do apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We hope you give us another try.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

It was filthy!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Filthy and hot tub and pool were dirty and not in working order
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Jill Marie for your review. I have looked into your comment and had these issues fixed. We hope you give us another try.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Missing 14 yr old pom and what the staff did!

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: I loved the fact they allow you to have your pets,,we were allowed to walk threw motel with them (on leaches of course ) on my second day there I was making some calls and needed to run out to my car that was right in front of my room to get some info the person on other end needed and my 14 yr old pom snuck off the bed and some how past me in a matter of no time ,I serched for her to only become very emotional not having any luck and very min that went by with no results the more emotional I became when the staff was aware of the situation not only did they go over and beyond to keep an eye out for her but they practically helped me with a larg serch party asking other guests and strangers as they walked by the motel 2.5 hrs and still no fur baby I was mentally and physically darned and it wasn't until I just sat down out side of my room that a staff member had walked up to me as I was crying and with all the people that was looking for my poor little girl, this young lady came to check on me and how I was doing ,the staff was amazing and I'm so very grateful to each and every one of them,and to answer your qustion yes she was found and we were reunited after a total of 4 hrs missing., I highly recommend the Ramada in Gillette, Wyoming .
Cons: One of the reasons we choose the Ramada,is hot tub I have major nerve damage and the hot tub is a major part in where we choose to stay and was not working during our stay.
Location: Location is very good you have 2 large strip malls right there,gas station,restaurants and shopping all in a 1-3 min radius.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Ramada Gillette, Hotel Management
Kandy, all feedback is important for us to hear. We are sorry the hot tub was down and we are using all resources to get it back up and running for yours and other guests needs. We are very happy to hear that our staff was helpful. Thank you for recommending us to any of our future guests. We very much appreciate it. Have a wonderful day. Hope to see you again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Ugh!!!!!#

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Nothing to like about this hotel. Filthy. Complained numerous times about no hot water,trash scattered everywhere outside. Linens were torn and dingy.
Cons: Everything about this hotel is terrible. Trash everywhere filthy rooms. Dingy linens. Torn bed skirts hanging off the beds. Tiles coming off the ceilings.
Location: Who cares. Stay elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Ramada Gillette, Hotel Management
Dear Carl and Trisha, We are sorry for your disappointing stay. Your feedback is much appreciated and will be used as a way to set higher standards for us employees to meet expectations to better our future guest stay. Thank you greatly for sharing your feedback. We hope in the future you will stay again to give us a second chance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
This property is very run down. Jacuzzi, did not work and had not for 3 weeks already. The rooms were old and had not been updated. When lifting the bath tub mat, I discovered it was filthy underneath. The cable was not working throughout the whole hotel. I had to change rooms because my door lock would not work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are always working on making the Ramada a better place to stay for our guests. Please accept our apology for any inconveniences you had. Hope you have a wonderful day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kemmerer wy

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: when asked to move the ladies did it right a way. thanks
Cons: on the older side was put in a suite but needs updated. but great freedom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Anonymous for your review on the hotel. I am glad our staff took care of you right away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Our room was not very clean and it took a long time to check in because the customer service agent was outside smoking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review about the Ramada Plaza in Gillette WY.