Ratings based on 352 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Very conveniently located

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Comfotable, clean, and of adequate size. Staff were friendly
Location: Tea ceremony experiences Delightful cultural show nightly at Gion corne,, easy access to interesting temples.
We enjoyed being right in the centre of Gion with its many attractions, and experiences
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mono kyoto

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: The location is strategically located in shojo (四条)。 next to hanamikoji. did all my sightseeing on foot except for trip to fushimi inari.
Location: yasaka shrine and kiyomizu dera are all within walking distance. gion just round the corner. pontocho, komogawa and nishiki by foot
only focused on kyoto. great food. must try the restaurants situated at small alleys. try the unagi specialty restaurant next to kyoto gion post office. opened for lunch at 1130am. but the owners only serves 14 guests per setting. 3 sets between 1130am till 2pm. I was the number 15 guy when i reached there. waited for 1 1/2 hours for my turn. Worth the wait. Should also try the beef/steak shop at pontocho. as u walk into pontocho the shop is on your left, about 100m. Very small shop. raw wagyu with uni, aged beef (pork equivalent will be serano/iberico). try the sashimi at nishiki market also dont miss out the raw beef sushi. yakitori at the street right after pontocho alley is also great. this restaurant has no chair. u have to stand to eat and drink. and if you have time dont miss out the french restaurant about 200m from the south gate of yasaka shrine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Small but comfy!

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Pillows to thin
Location: Close to attraction, eg Yasaka Shrine 10 mins walk to Train Station 10 mins walk to eateries
Very close to attractions. Lovely streets as it portrays the old japan. If you're lucky you can see a Geisha. The toilet is small and a bit cramp but overall its clean and well maintained.No regrets staying in this hotel.
5 out of 5
by CHIZUKO

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san franscisco

locate right at Gion

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: a bit small....air con is either not cold or too cold... difficult to make right temperatue....
Location: walking distance to Yasaka Shrink, Kodai-ji , Hanamikoji dori ponto cho...many interesting place can be reach by walk...
super location, near of most attraction by walking.. many restaurants and shops around, bus stop right outside... taxi fare from Kyoto JR station to hotel around 10 min...1350 yen.. or by Bus 230 yen...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB, Canada

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: We liked the location of the hotel. It is within walking distance of the subway system and city bus connections from the hotel were good.
Cons: The room was much smaller than what we expected for the price. However, we were pleased with the cleanliness of the room and bathroom.
Location: Public transit is handy, recommend walking the Philosopher's Path. Enjoyed scotch at the Tallisker Whiskey Bar, Nishiki Food Market is a must visit.
We booked this hotel through Expedia and were fully satisfied with the results. There were no issues with the booking dates, the hotel was expecting us, the rates quoted at the time of booking were honored. The staff helped us English speakers and made it easy to get information as requested. The beds were comfortable and we got a good nights sleep every night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No AC during must months of the year

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Location was not convenient to get to from Kyoto station. No AC if not July and August. Room smelled like smoke and couldn't switch to another room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Mediocre hotel next to shops

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Location was great, right next to a street filled with shopping spots.
Cons: A more flexible check in time (even if charged extra) would be great. And better sleeping pillow.
I arrived at the hotel at 2:25. I asked the guy at the front desk if I was able to check in 35 min. early... nope. He would not allow it. He took my luggage and told me to come back at 3. Ok, fine. Strict check in time, I get it. All in all, the room was fine. Small, but fine. Only complaint I have is the pillow on the bed. You are given 1 pillow... if you could call it that. It was more like a small piece of foam. Other than that, everything else was fine...a little pricey for what you are given, but fine. Just make sure you bring your own pillow if you want to be comfy.