Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Our first ryokan

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Private bathroom and shower as an alternative to the onsen, many amenities were provided, artfully decorated space, and real Japanese ryokan experienc
Cons: The private shower had some mould.
Location: Gion has a nice shopping street and is near several temples and a park.
This was our first experience in a ryokan so I cannot compare with other ryokans. It was a fantastic experience, from the welcome tea to the keiseki dinner and fancy breakfast. The bath was nice and also very clean. We also glimpsed sights of a geisha.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from chicago, illinois

Japanese cultural immersion

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Generous and supportive staff, quality accommodations and wonderful location.
Location: Prime location, in heart of Gion. Easy walks to shopping, eating, entertainment. Plenty of rickshaws too, if you prefer a ride.
For an authentic experience that is different than any stay in a western-style hotel, definitely consider Gion Hatanka ryokan. The staff is exceptional and the experience is unlike any other. Highly recommend the onset/baths too! The location of the ryokan is fantastic and easily walkable to prime Gion area, many temples and shopping. We stayed two nights and the staff member who was assigned to us (served afternoon matcha, dinner, breakfasts) was wonderful. She also set up the beds (futon mattresses) each evening. Some may feel a slight lack of privacy or spontaneity given the structure around the meals, but for two nights, it was totally worth it. I'm not sure I would enjoy a prolonged stay given the structure, but for 2-3 days, I highly recommend the ryokan experience. Why not start with the best and try Gion Hatanka?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, AU

Pricey but worth the visit!

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on CheapTickets
Both breakfast and dinner was exquisite, wished I stayed on a maiko night. Stayed in 401 which was a deluxe room (2 rooms with at least 10 tatami mats I think). Had private bath. Public bath was empty when I used it. Ventilation wasn't too good though so couldn't stay too long or would have problems breathing Could see the back of yasaka jinja shrine from the room. Worth every penny!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and great location

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Close to both place of interest and subway stations. Very helpful staff. Traditional Japanese style
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Lovely Japanese ryokan

Posted Oct 7, 2016
The experience was exactly what we were hoping for at this lovely, traditional ryokan l. Our personal staff member was charming, efficient, and helpful. She seemingly anticipated our every move and would immediately have tea for us when we returned to our rooms, We will always fondly remember our stay at Gion Hatanaka.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Very traditional experience

Posted Sep 14, 2016
I had lived and studied in Japan for several years and never stayed in a traditional ryokan before. We wanted to have a uniquely Japanese experience and this was it. We were worried the futon would be uncomfortable, but it wasn't at all. We were worried that there might not be a tv--there was but it was all in Japanese so we rarely watched it at all. The highlight of the entire experience was the Japanese breakfast served in our room every morning and the absolutely amazing staff. The person who brought in the food each morning was incredible and Taisuke(?) as well as everyone at the front desk bent over backwards, including arranging a private guide for the day then a private tea ceremony (both of which were extraordinary). It's located adjacent to a large shrine, right at the end of the busiest street in Kyoto, but was completely quiet and serene. We thought we might get a few strange looks as a gay married couple, but it couldn't be farther from the truth. They were incredibly sweet. It's a very small place with probably fewer than 50 rooms. We didn't use the public Ofuro tub because that's not our thing, but I think it's supposed to be great. There's a convenience store 100 ft across the street which was great. Again, the place is tucked away and completely quiet and peaceful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels