Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Boyd

Great location for exploring Gion!

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was very attentive and helpful upon arrival. We were quite early but they stored our luggage and offered us some free bottled water. We enjoyed our stay here and unfortunately didn't get to use the outside terrace as we were back to late each night to take advantage of it. The only downside is having to walk to the other side of the river if you want to do things later at night but there are definitely closer restaurants if you're just looking to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely Hotel close to many good sights.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to all the shrines, temples, gardens and good restaurants. A typically Japanese neighbourhood.
This Hotel was perfect for our stay in Gion. The staff were wonderful and the most caring and pleasant we have met anywhere in the world. Nothing was too much trouble for them to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The hotel is clean and in an excellent position. Loved it and would highly recommend it to other travellers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Location, tatami room, yukata, staff, futon, French breakfast.
Cons: Slippers ... prefer didposable.
Great location, super nice hotel staff, spacious room, nice bathtab.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Cannot recommend Gion Maifukan enough!

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Gion Maifukan is located on a very beautiful, quiet street in the best part of Gion. Unbelievably nice and professional staff who went out of their way giving us directions and restaurant recommendations. We basically picked it at random only knowing that we wished to stay in the Gion neighborhood. We could not believe our luck! Location, staff, comfortable accommodations and reasonable rates. Give this place a try!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent location, gracious service,

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Very good experience in small hotel in excellent location. Convenient, central location. Outstanding helpful service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 24, 2016
The staff here is amazing! Very helpful and kind and professional. The room was clean and comfortable and I slept very well. I had a Western style room. The location of the hotel is close to a number of shrines and temples and you can walk there. It's also close to the Kyoto subway line that you can take to the Inari shrine.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Experience the atmosphere of Old Japan

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in Maifukan at the middle of September. It is a small hotel, well located in the ancient district of Gion close to Yakusa Shrine, restaurants, bus stops and a laundromat. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. We stayed in a Japanese Tatami room for 5 nights - perhaps a little too long for the amount of storage. The room was a good size with a big low table and floor chairs. The beds were made up each evening upon request. The coffee in the room was good and there was a generous amount of quantity toiletries. We would love to stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Japanese Ryokan

Posted Aug 5, 2016
A very nice traditional Japanese experience in the heart of Gion!!
5 out of 5
by Dina from Houston

Great place in Gion with polite staff

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Awesomely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Terrific location

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Highly recommended! Tucked away, but very close to Gion - my favorite area of Kyoto. Staff is wonderful.