Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect blend of tradition and modern feel.

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Orbitz
What a wonderful experience. The staff were all very friendly, eager to help and even though didn't all speak English that well went above and beyond to accommodate. You will NOT be disappointed. One of the highlights of our trip was the massage ladies who came to our room for a couples massage at 10:30pm. The price was a steal and the service impeccable. I've traveled the world and hands-down it was the best massage I've ever had, I recommend Tomo- my masseuses name.
4 out of 5
by Rachel

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Authentic and located in the heart of Gion. The onsen was a wonderful experience and the room made us feel like we were truly in Japan. Only issue was comfort, in that the bedding was thin.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A unique experience, good for a night

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
If you want to experience what a ryokan is like, but don't want to drop close to $1k per night on the high end ones, this is more of a budget option. I'm glad I went. Enjoyed the public bath and seeing shrines in this quiet neighborhood. It was my first Japanese bed experience (mat on the floor) and I must admit that a fairly bright room overnight + hip pain meant I didn't sleep very well. FYI: 7pm was too late to request breakfast for the next day; check out is at 10 am.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ryokan on a quiet lane in Higashiyama

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Quiet and centrally located ryokan in Eastern Kyoto (Higashiyama). Large rooms, great views from some rooms, delicious and exquisite Japanese breakfasts. Enjoyed the nightly onsen bath.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Walking distance to shrine and park. Close to shopping. 0nsen bath was a highlight and the dining was good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing experience

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
The staff is super helpful and nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In Kyoto's old district-Gion, this ryokan is great

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Quiet at night, close to many beautiful temples and local cuisine. Walking to and from the bus is only 3 minutes and about a 10 minute walk to the subway gives visitors easy access to the whole of Kyoto. Staff is very helpful and friendly but their English is not great; expect to use your favorite translation app. Clean, quiet and a perfect example of a traditional Japanese ryokan, you can't go wrong here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice Ryokan

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Pros: The location was good - in the heart of Gion. The staff did their very best to make you feel welcome. The Japanese breakfasts were great.
Cons: the futons could be thicker & softer.
Location: Lots of places to eat, several interesting temples nearby. 3 minutes walk to Gion shopping. Some interesting Japanese artisans are nearby.
The rooms were quite attractive, the Japanese breakfasts were excellent, the food was fresh and tasty and there was plenty of it. Some things I struggled with were, not having a bed to flop down on in the middle of the afternoon after a long walk in the heat. One had to wait until the beds were laid out at around 5 pm. After 4 days of sleeping on a thin futon on the floor I was hanging out for a western bed. But I am 60 and not as flexible as I used to be. I really struggled with sitting on the floor for breakfast. I became so uncomfortable the second time round that I hardly ate any breakfast. I had to go and find a bakery. I feel a bit uncomfortable here as I do not wish to diss the hotel. The staff were very helpful. though some had rudimentary english. As a genuine Japanese ryokan the place was very good. as accommodation for a soft westerner it left quite a bit to be desired.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
its was ok. the room was average, nothing super special to write home about, but the room was clean, and the bath was clean as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2015
My first trip to Japan, and i chose this japanese style hotel. Room is very clean and big. Staff is very nice.