Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Lovely hotel setting sounded by forest trees.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
The hotel is set amongst trees and lawns over looking the lake at Giratale. We had a lovely big room next to the pool. Many of the rooms are high up on the hill. There was a tree growing in the semi open air bathroom. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Roy the manager was more than helpful in organising tours to ancient cities and the elephant safari. We would definitely recommend and stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Nizar, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings from Deer Park. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful holiday and I have shared your comments with the staff and their are thrilled. We at Deer Park are committed to delight and create a WOW factor for all our gust and we thank you for taking the time to rate us on Expedia. Regards Chief Operating Officer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sri Lanka

a place for quite nature lover

Posted May 16, 2017
Great, we were treated with respect care and friendly. Rooms were very comfortable and spacy Good food
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Really disappointing - terrible food

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Disappointing - no alternative food options to the mediocre hotel food
Cons: Food - really second rate
Location: Reasonably well located for the cultural triangle
Very disappointed with our stay at Deer Park. Whilst the setting itself is nice, each building is very close to the next, taking away any feeling of space. The real let-down though was the food situation. Breakfast was the worst we experienced in Sri Lanka in terms of quality and taste. Dinner was a buffet which looked like it had been left out for weeks containing un-appetising food. We order al-la-carte in the end, and half of that appeared to have been assembled for us from the buffet. It would have been OK if there were alternate options anywhere in the vicinity, but you're stuck with just the hotel options food wise. Also, the driver arranged by the hotel wasn't great - a very tired old car and he tried to take us to every shop under the sun on our last day with him...
3 out of 5
by Subodha

X mas holidays

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
The surrounding was very nice and green. This is a nice and quiet place.However this seems substandard than a five star hotel where you would find a better one for the price you pay.
4 out of 5
by Polina from London

Nice views of the Lake

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
Room smelt a bit dump, was clean otherwise. No wifi in rooms, only in public arrears. Waiter got order wrong twice, but were offered deserts and salads to make up for it.
1 out of 5
by Arch man from USA

Beautiful Setting, Attentive Service

Posted May 10, 2013 on Hotels
It was lovely. Low season is in May and hardly any guests. Actually an ideal time to visit as you get undivided attention. If it was full, I would not stay there as there are lots of rooms and it has a slightly institutional feel. Definitely not a retreat in the woods, though that is the setting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels
I think Deer Park can easily qualify as one of the best hotels in Sri Lanka. Great property and well maintained. Lovely view and cottages. You will need a car to get there and a short drive away to the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by www.drserene.co

you'll enjoy Deer Park Hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2012
Pros: swimming pool, buffet at night
A sanctuary after spending the day in the heat. It's a convenient distance from the cultural triangle and the big lake in front of it is very scenic
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Deer Park ,Giritale - excellent mid-level stays

Posted Jan 2, 2012 on Hotels
Attractive lay-out, attentive service, 'cool' bathroom, generally comfortable and smooth running; bar food and drink at night on the terrace, buffet breakfast and the outdoor swimming pools especially good. The food was real food (local fruit yummy!) and the staff were very helpful and always kind. The price and location are right for above average but not extravagant hotelling - just right for us. Hotels.com did a great job for us. J&C Australia.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The great hotel with great view and meal

Posted Dec 22, 2011 on Hotels