Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Dave from Tauranga

Ahi Kaa

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
Very Nice Motel, friendly owners
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tauranga NZ

Perfect location almost on the beach.

Posted Mar 26, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Good furniture and bedding. Modern appliances in the tiny kitchenette.
Cons: Shelving above the microwave would be sensible. Only downside was the toilet positioning is in a direct line with the ranch slider opening to carpark.
Location: Within a few minutes walk is the beach a restaurant and takeaway food as well as surf clubs and a well made boardwalk. Also surfing tuition.
Easy check-in , lovely clean tidy spacious room and enormous ensuite. Everything we needed was there. Parking at the door, quiet location, and very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beach getaway

Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Awesome and relaxed stay close to the beach

Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Wotif
We are just back from some awesome days in Gisborne and suroundings. Ahi Kaa played a big role in accommodating a central, friendly and clean place for our adventures! Loved the beach walks so close by and the cleanliness/ refurbishment of the motel! Ka kite ano!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Friedly staff, look and feel of rooms and location
Cons: Nothing
Location: One block off the beach where there's a lovely boardwalk and cycleway, easy walk to town and the information centre.
We had a fabulous stay at Ahi Kaa. We arrived early and they were able to accommodate us as the room was ready. Staff were warm, friendly and helpful. The room was great value. It was modern, clean and comfortable. I also really appreciated the eco principles - e.g. solar water heating, recycling hardwood from the rennovations into tables, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawkes Bay

Weekend away

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Fantastic location 2min walk from the Waikanae Beach - stroll, walk or run along the boardwalk.
If you want the home away from home feel, then this is definitely the place to stay. On occasions my managers requires me to be in Gisborne for a week and the business books my accommodation in a corporate motel. I will now request to be booked into Ahi Kaa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Very friendly. I liked the original flair of my room. Not at all 'cookie cutter' like mainstream hotels and motels. Continental breakfast standard fare - nice muesli but missing the fruit advertised.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

fantastic

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
Great room, close to beach and city. lovely owners and friendly pet cat. highly recommend this motel.
5 out of 5
by Andrea from Perth

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
Warm, clean, quiet, comfy was all I required, loved my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Nice hotel, quiet location, plenty parking

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Friendly helpful staff, comfortable beds, plenty towels, nice and clean, would use again