Ratings based on 387 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland

Great location and value spacious pool view suite

Posted Apr 26, 2017
I was concerned reading the reviews which nearly put me off staying there but my stay was fabulous. The location is amazing walking distance to all the shops farmers market cafes and riverside and city beach. The reception staff were lovely. Our room was so comfortable so spacious so quiet. The spa was great the pool was freezing, but its not summer now. The only negative thing was mosaic tiles missing around the spa which you could cut your feet on. Treadmill was great, only 3 things in fitness room (not a centre) but was afequate for a short stay. Could do with a tv in the fitness room but I m being fussy now. Overall this hotel is great value for money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spend your vacation on your toilet!

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Got locked into the bathroom after their bathroom door lock broke down and hotel management had to break down the door using force. Phone inside room wasn't working and the general standard of floors and the facility felt like it had its better years. The food in their bistro was pretty awful and the hotel staff took 30 minutes just to get some icecream out. I know Gisborne is out in the nowhere but this hotel isn't worth its current rating even by very low standards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Rooms are nice
Cons: Food was terrible couldn't eat breakfast or dinner Wine was reasonable priced
Location: Business trip but close to cafes if needed
Had to stay two nights due to airport closure Staff were pleasant and accommodation Food was awful - inedible
4 out of 5
by Richard F

Gisborne Comfort

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent accommodation - spacious room, well appointed and comfortable. Parking connected to hotel and with direct access was very welcome in this central location (and it was raining), On-site restaurant was a factor in our choice - surroundings were fine but the food was disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Very noisy.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Great space. Very roomy
Cons: Breakfast. Need replenishing e.g More tea and coffee. No Marmalade and we went at 7.30
Location: Good central location.
As the big bedroom was enclosed without any windows or TV. We slept in the twin beds with trucks turning the corner every few minutes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
Left there drained and exhausted Air conditioning unit not working correctly room was hot and a noisy pump in the wall kept us up all night I told receptionists on exit she said shall let management know I have stayed here many times before never had this issue before
4 out of 5
by brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by briar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redland Bay , Australia

Overlooking the river

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Nice walk along the river
Cons: Because of the placement of the lifts it seemed an excessively long walk to get to your room ,especially if you had a few bags
Location: Gisbourne was a stopover going north between Napier and Whakatine so was picked more for location than activity
Overnight stay in Gisbourne and was a nice place to stay