Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Polite Staff who is trying hard, BUT...!

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: The cleaning staff do a good job, the VERY small cafeteria people are nice.
Cons: Accounting is handled the WRONG way! The operation staff is untrained. The receptionists are untrained. The pictures are DECEIVING!
Location: It is near the Pyramids.
Polite professional staff. However, I have to mention the following two incidents: - I was sleeping in my room, fighting a cold. The front desk called me insisting that I should "settle" my account although everything was paid in advance! I went downstairs to see him.....It came out to be 50 bucks!!!! BTW, I have been traveling the world and this NEVER happened to me in the past 31 years. However, it was my first time to stay in a 3 star hotel! - When I checked out, they owed me EGL175 and they were unable to credit it back to my account. I could have used that money to pay for my taxi to the airport. - Everyone smokes in the reception area. THEY FORGET TO TURN ON THE VENTILATION FANS!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by Ahmed, Hotel Management
Dear Sir Thanks for your staying at our hotel and we are working hard to avoid any misunderstanding, to improve our property
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, CA

Order room service, not the buffet.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
This hotel had great service, but wouldn't recommend the breakfast buffet for guests. Instead grab a fresh falafel from a clean local business. Room and spa services were terrific; and very affordable for American guests. Reception was helpful, but guest will need to retrieve a new wifi password for each night of their stay. The neighborhood was busy enough to walk around at night without safety concerns, and is surrounded by tourist attractions and popular restaurants. But do your souvenir shopping at Khan el-Kalili (the bazaar) with a local guide, rather than being overcharged by businesses in the Al Ahram District. Also, walking distance to the Pyramids of Giza. Additionally, non-Egyptian guests pay a higher rate and massages in the spa are 300LE; approximately $15 USD.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by Ahmed, Hotel Management
Dear Sir thanks for your stayed at Gawharet AlAhram Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Hotel with many amenities

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Great location. Close to the pyramids on a busy street. Restaurant and Cafe have great food at amazing prices. Hotel has many amenities. I used the hair salon to get my hair done . They also offer massages and facials . Hotel also has a pool and gift shops in the lobby. I will definitely return .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington DC

Poor service unbelievably NOISY

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Orbitz
The hotel is ok but staff have no idea what they are doing, argumentative and somewhat rude Orbits POSTED PRICE was only for local Egyptian not for tourists , huge surprise when I booked the hotel for $13 a night and they charged me $50 per night It was ORPITZ's fault Hope you investigate what you sell before you post it for public I do not think I will book hotels through ORBITZ ever again
1 out of 5
by Sali

Terrible place

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
Omg they are so rude and filthy .They need to shut down
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your comment and we need to know why, our hotel is 4 stars hotel and our staff professional and they know what does it mean hospitality
3 out of 5
by sayed

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rimon from Canada

Very Good Hotel very good price rate

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff,clean room,good pool,Fantastic view for pyramids and sphinx from the roof ,the stay was comfortable
4 out of 5
by Nevien

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
The only bad thing was that the Internet was only free in the lobby & hotels.com wasn't clear abou that ..
1 out of 5
by mohamed

Very bad hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was very bad and i was forced to leave it from the first day and they refused to give me My money back
3 out of 5
by Benjamin from Coconut Creek

An OK place to stay, except for the traffic noise

Posted Dec 28, 2015 on Hotels
The neighborhood was close to many amenities, but I only stayed one night, so this was of no interest to me. The worst part of the neighborhood was all of the noisy traffic, which was outside my window until late at night. The next morning the person at the front desk suggested that I could have gotten a more quiet room at the back of the hotel by asking. There was a modest "health club" although I got contradictory statements about the hours from different service people, and both statements were incorrect. The room had a decent bathroom as well as a refrigerator. The hotel gave me a ride from the airport for US$30. The hotel promoted its location near the pyramids, but they were not very close, and certainly not visible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2016 by Ahmed, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Binjameen Let me first to thank you very much about your staying in our hotel and your comment we will review the misunderstanding points you mentioned and we will do our best to fix it. Thanks & Regards Mohamed Sayed Reservation & E-comm. Manager