Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by John

If you have a bad back

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
Only problem was carrying cases up the stairs with my bad back.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017
Dear John, thank you for taking time to evevaluate our hotel. We are happy to read your voting and resend this to all of our colleagues. For your next visit you can use also our elevator to carrying cases. Kind regards, van der Valk Hotel Gladbeck
1 out of 5
by Alexei Kuznetsoff from North Carolina

Stay away.

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
Booked an upgraded Deluxe room. The room is big but with many outdated "designer" touches that might be cool in 80s but are desperately outdated nowadays. I wish I had a smaller room - this big one was impossible to heat despite a battery turned on full setting and an additional electric forced air heater. It was -3 outside. There are free drinks that come with an upgraded room ( juices, beers) but I have never seen a German hotel without a kettle. Until now. I didn't want to have a breakfast in the morning so I tried to get coffee. The hotel info book states something like: "our spacious lobby is a nice place to hang around and enjoy a cup of coffee and a slice of homemade cake". What it didn't say - BRING YOUR OWN COFFEE AND CAKE. I asked at the reception where I can get coffee. They directed me to the restaurant. I went to the restaurant where the breakfast was served at the moment. I explained that I just want to buy two cups of coffee but no breakfast. I was looked at like I just arrived from the moon. Finally the waitress allowed me to get two cups of coffee from the automatic machine. There were no options for coffee WITHOUT milk. I am lactose intolerant but the headache from having no caffeine was prevailing and I got two cups. It was the most atrociously bitter-sour coffee I ever tried. No amount of milk could remedy it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, quiet and clean hotel close highway.

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel! Beautiful room interior. Clean. Big bath + Italian shower. Coffee-tea. £0 sec access from the motorway. rich breakfast . Silent and cosy. Just one neg remark - pillow is awful. But definitely come back again (with own pillow).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Solid functional hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Efficiency of restaurant payment system and accuracy of billing
Cons: Decor. I think it has been hit with the ugly stick
Location: I think you will need transport as there didn't appear to be much in the area
Stayed for a week in October. The hotel was fine with respect to polite staff and efficient systems but it definitely is a traditional hotel that lacks any flair or attractive qualities about the decor / carpets / bedrooms etc. The high point is the restaurant of an evening which is more attractive than the rest of the hotel and served some nice meals, however, I found the food quality at breakfast was much lower. One thing to note is that although the reception staff spoke reasonable English the majority of the staff in the restaurant and elsewhere just spoke German and the signage and menus were all just in German. Fortunately I speak enough German to get by but it could be a little awkward if you don't speak any German at all. One thing that amused me - I bought a little Christmas bauble gift from the Van der Valk shop and having asked if they had a gift box for it (to which they said yes) the receptionist extracted a toilet roll from the draw and used some toilet paper to wrap the bauble up and place it in a cardboard box and then place in a nice Van der Valk bag! Another instance of functional rather than attractive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel and service, long walk to the room I was in though.
3 out of 5
by Dinkar from Kolkata

Comfortable stay

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
it was a comfortable stay and the staff understanding and cooperation was excellent.
4 out of 5
by Marcel from Antwerpen

Gladbeck

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
Good location close to motorway. Nice hotel with nice rooms which could do with a little renewing. Good breakfast
4 out of 5
by Mogens

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by James from Stoke on Trent

Basic business hotel. Beware the WiFi!

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
I have stayed at this hotel many times on business, and in general it is a nice, clean experience. The facilities are basic, and the rooms are not luxurious but comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful at the front desk, but are reluctant to assist on any matters that may take effort on their part. The biggest gripe I have with this hotel, is that you run the WiFi lottery every time you check in. Whilst the website states that free WiFi is available in all rooms, the existence of only one central router means that the further away your room is from reception, the less WiFi you have. As a businessman I require access to emails at all times, and I would say 50% of the times I have stayed here WiFi is not available in my room. If you complain about this, you are basically told to deal with it. In general, if you have a short business stay I do recommend this, just don't expect 5 Stars or walkable civilisation as you are surrounded by forest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Jul 8, 2015
This hotel is close to the highway. It is convenient for the travelers with car. Free parking is offered. The parking lot in the front of the hotel is very spacy. The staff at the front desk is helpful. The guestroom is clean and spacy. The bathroom contains a shower and a bathtub. Free WIFI is offered in the room. One free bottled water is offered in the guestroom.