Ratings based on 379 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

A hidden gem

Posted Sep 12, 2017
From the moment we arrived the friendliness of the staff was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel is a listed building and has lovely old features from bygone years.The room was spotless and the bed so comfortable. The food was great and breakfast catered for every taste. I would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Clacton-on-sea, Essex. UK

Fantastic Hotel in the city centre

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Style and convenience to city centre.
Location: In the city centre, near the main shopping area. Close to transport links and local attractions.
Beautifully decorated and very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel very convenient for bars, restaurants and local attractions. I would highly recommend a stay there.
5 out of 5
by Robert

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent, helpful staff. I had to stay one extra night and the front desk made it easy. Restaurant is a little too fancy for me, but the traditional Sunday dinner was excellent! Great location. Close to everything I needed and easy to find being on one of the main streets in Glasgow.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Very Disappointing Stay at the Abode Glasgow

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Staff did their best to be accommodating and fix the tv and safe.
Cons: Put people in the room they reserved, faster wifi. Don't charge for water in the room, other hotels give this for free. Refrigerator in the room.
Location: Near the main shopping street, within walking distance to Queen Street train station.
This is probably my first bad review. We reserved a Superior Double room with a double bed. We were given two twin beds in a wheelchair accessible room, which means a large wet room bathroom with lukewarm water in the shower (could not get a warm shower despite much effort) water went all over the floor, as the floor was not sloped to flow the water towards the drain, and of course, the sink is at wheelchair level, which makes sense for the room but not for taller people. On top of that, the wifi was extremely slow, it took minutes to send an email with an attachment and watching videos on YouTube was difficult as the videos would have to buffer. Forget streaming GoT! Their ISP does not charge them for wifi, so = extremely slow wifi. We asked to be moved to a different room, but they were booked up that night. We moved the next day to a smaller room, which was better, but the tv did not work and the safe was also not functioning. We told them about the tv and safe, and they did fix the tv but not the safe. The building itself is over a hundred years old, which looks very nice in the lobby and the old elevator is quaint, but with an old building comes less modern things like slow wifi, less outlets in the room, etc. Also, charged for water in the room - basically felt that the hotel nickle and dimed their customers. Most of the UK and Europe gives two bottles of water in the room without charge. Lastly, the lighting in the bathroom was very bad.
4 out of 5
by Peter

Nice stay but the weekend price rise can smart

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed in the Abode for a week for work and extended a few days to take in Glasgow and a trip to the Edinburgh festival. I'd previously stayed in the Abode in Exeter and the Glasgow doesn't quite rate as highly, particularly in terms of the restaurant which, as far as I could figure out, seemed to only be open for breakfast, lunch or dinner (My wife is disabled and couldn't always easily get out of the hotel and make it to the accepted meal times) there was also some confusion with the kitchen with the Meal of the Day on offer but sold out and no replacement available. Otherwise it was above average until the rate goes up at the weekend. I realise hotels put their rates up when demand is high but it simply makes an £80-£95 stay into a £200+ stay and it's simply not worth that. Service was good in the Reception and elsewhere but poorer again in the restaurant. However, in terms of locality and surrounding areas for eating and bars it cannot be faulted with Sauchiehall Street parallel just 2 minutes away. The building's nice and the atmosphere excellent and I'd certainly recommend the Abode but you may reconsider a Saturday night stay.
5 out of 5
by Anna

YUMMY breakfast, comfortable stay cute place.

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
We loved the stay, It was only a place for the night coming from hiking in the Highlands to going home the following day. But the hotel is lovely, pleasant surprise, loved the gold lions and the decor around the old fashioned lift. Rooms were cute and comfortable. The breakfast was awesome in my taste, best hotel breakfast I have had in a long time. Plenty of choices healthy, and lovely in their presentation. I would go back for the breakfast alone. Someone in the kitchen understands good quality food. Thanks !
5 out of 5
by Holly

Perfect blend of modern & historical decor

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
ABode Glasgow was perfect in every way -- the service at the front desk was so generous & cheerful, and I loved the special detail of having not just a Nespresso but also a hot pot in the room for well-brewed tea. The hot chocolate packets were a hit with my kids, and I enjoyed the biscuits (cookies) which I hid from my kids (parents are allowed to do that, right?!). All in all, a marvelous stay with just the right appointments for feeling well-cared for.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Noisy air conditioning

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: The lift
Cons: Air conditioning less noisy, happy staff and cheaper drink
Location: Very central
Nice enough hotel , lovely lift and landings. Room ok, shower above a very high bath. Very noisy air conditioning kept us awake for hours. Bar very dear £14 for a pint and small wine served by grumpy girl .
5 out of 5
by Suzan

Birthday stay at The Abode

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
Had a fantastic stay at the Abode. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. When we arrived we were upgraded to a huge room for no extra charge. Room was fab, light and airy with a huge comfy bed and sitting area. Very clean and great facilities. We will be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Not great value for money

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Breakfast.
Cons: The room rates should reflect the size of the room.
Location: Very close to a huge shopping offer.
Room was really small for three of us. We couldn't open the wardrobe door because the only place the spare bed could go was in front of the wardrobe door. The hotel found us a new room that was an improvement but it was still small for three people for two nights. I thought it was expensive for the size of room. Breakfast was fantastic though, huge range of food and really good value. Not so great for fussy children though!