Ratings based on 358 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Very Disappointing Stay at the Abode Glasgow

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Staff did their best to be accommodating and fix the tv and safe.
Cons: Put people in the room they reserved, faster wifi. Don't charge for water in the room, other hotels give this for free. Refrigerator in the room.
Location: Near the main shopping street, within walking distance to Queen Street train station.
This is probably my first bad review. We reserved a Superior Double room with a double bed. We were given two twin beds in a wheelchair accessible room, which means a large wet room bathroom with lukewarm water in the shower (could not get a warm shower despite much effort) water went all over the floor, as the floor was not sloped to flow the water towards the drain, and of course, the sink is at wheelchair level, which makes sense for the room but not for taller people. On top of that, the wifi was extremely slow, it took minutes to send an email with an attachment and watching videos on YouTube was difficult as the videos would have to buffer. Forget streaming GoT! Their ISP does not charge them for wifi, so = extremely slow wifi. We asked to be moved to a different room, but they were booked up that night. We moved the next day to a smaller room, which was better, but the tv did not work and the safe was also not functioning. We told them about the tv and safe, and they did fix the tv but not the safe. The building itself is over a hundred years old, which looks very nice in the lobby and the old elevator is quaint, but with an old building comes less modern things like slow wifi, less outlets in the room, etc. Also, charged for water in the room - basically felt that the hotel nickle and dimed their customers. Most of the UK and Europe gives two bottles of water in the room without charge. Lastly, the lighting in the bathroom was very bad.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Noisy air conditioning

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: The lift
Cons: Air conditioning less noisy, happy staff and cheaper drink
Location: Very central
Nice enough hotel , lovely lift and landings. Room ok, shower above a very high bath. Very noisy air conditioning kept us awake for hours. Bar very dear £14 for a pint and small wine served by grumpy girl .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Not great value for money

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Breakfast.
Cons: The room rates should reflect the size of the room.
Location: Very close to a huge shopping offer.
Room was really small for three of us. We couldn't open the wardrobe door because the only place the spare bed could go was in front of the wardrobe door. The hotel found us a new room that was an improvement but it was still small for three people for two nights. I thought it was expensive for the size of room. Breakfast was fantastic though, huge range of food and really good value. Not so great for fussy children though!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Theatre visit

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Ideal location for theatre visit at reasonable price. Although we had room by road on 2nd floor there was very little outside noise. Standard room was quite small but comfortable and was ideal for a one night stay. Good friendly welcome and satisfactory breakfast so good value overall
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

About beds in hotel.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I would have given it a 5 star but both times I have stayed there I got a sore back from the bed so I will not being staying again. Disappointed as I thought the hotel is lovely so I am giving it a four star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Fabulous! Couldn't have asked for a better hotel. Central location, great staff. Comfortable bed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Perfect location; helpful staff; quiet and comfortable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Gorgeous and spacious hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff, proximity to train and shopping, and spacious room
My mom and I researched many hotels in Glasgow for our 2-night stay and we were very glad we picked ABode. We arrived very early in the morning and they gladly held our bags while we were able to do some things during the day. When we returned our bags were already in our room for us. The front desk staff were extremely helpful giving us tips about the city, including a hop on/off bus tour. The building was beautiful on the inside with a spiral staircase and an old-fashioned elevator. The rooms were very spacious with a king-size bed and full bath tub. We were able to walk to both train stations and plenty of restaurants. There was a nearby shopping area, as well. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
by Colin

Such a great abode

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
When visiting Glasgow, this is the only place to stay. It's a building full of history and nostalgia, but everything about the guest experience is as modern as tomorrow. And talk about friendly and helpful staff. The hospitality here is northing short of superb. If you're travelling by train, you don't need a taxi to get to Abode Glasgow, it's just a couple of hundred metres (yards) walk. You can start your walk around the City Wall from right out the front of the hotel and every site and dining experience is just a few minutes away on foot. You'll have a comfortable and restful night's sleep followed by a fantastic breakfast in the morning.
3 out of 5
by Tracy

Disappointed

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Hi I'm very disappointed with the behaviour from staff. The bar man was very rude almost to the point of laughing when I asked if he did cocktails. We ended up spending 4 nights due to being unwell otherwise we would have left. My girlfriend was humiliated by the reception staff and made to feel very unwelcome. Room service were angry when I called in the early hours (24 hr room service) I'm extremely disappointed with the service and treatment from staff we are a young couple but made to feel unworthy of staying at this hotel although we payed like everyone else. ☹️