Ratings based on 695 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NA

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Great hotel with excellent service. Excellent location and convenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada.

Excellent.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Very relaxing. Every staff member were helpful and courteous! Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Excellent intro to Scotland!

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: It's character and well trained staff.
Location: Great location for restaurants and shopping but also quiet in rooms at night.
Excellent atmosphere from the moment we walked in the door. Exceptional staff! Free mini bar and entrance to excutive lounge. Lovely meal in the restaurant with professional and friendly service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value. Great location. Horrible Wifi.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
We stayed at Carlton George for 5 days. Great staff. Small, but well designed room. Great water pressure. Perfect location. Loved that they kept the bar stocked. Parking was difficult, and expensive if you go over a 24 hour period. No microwave in room. Wifi was extremely slow, and only good for checking email.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Nice Hotel Right in Center of City

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Very nice hotel, staff and very clean, modern room. Right by St. George Square, so very convenient to restaurants, shopping, and walking distance to sights and/or subway. Great restaurant/pub next store to hotel. Parking is a bit of a hike (about six blocks away).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Free mini bar and executive lounge

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Location: Very close to George Square and lots of shopping; 15 minute walk to the Cathedral/Necropolis. The express bus from the airport stops right in front.
The free mini bar and 7th-floor executive lounge, with snacks and drinks available all day, were particularly nice. Room was very clean and spacious, hotel staff were excellent. My wife left some jewelry in the safe when we left, and we had no problem getting that back when we returned to Glasgow several weeks later.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stratford Ontario Canada

Friendly helpful staff

Posted Sep 12, 2017
The hotel staff were pleasant, courteous and accommodating, resulting in a very enjoyable four night stay. The wifi service was very poor, however, so slow that we could not use it. Otherwise a lovely stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitchener, ON

A Wonderful Hotel Well Located in Merchant City

Posted Sep 10, 2017
The staff was always friendly and helpful. Hotel very well located near Merchant City, shopping areas such as Princes Square and Buchanan Galleries, Pharmacy (Boots), Ted Baker, John Lewis, Kimbles for lunch, desserts, snacks, coffee, tea or nice drinks / cocktails. Near Sainbury Grocery store and many souvenir stores on Buchanan Street. St. Enoch is another nice shopping mall. Also if you choose a room, check, usually the mini bar is included. The hotel staff refills your mini bar on a daily basis. Some rooms also offer Vodka, Whiskey and Gin. If you have a a choice to include the Executive Lounge, highly recommended it since this include croissants, breakfast danish, yogourt, fruit basket, coffee and specialized coffee (latte, cappuccino, espresso), juice, sparkling water, etc., afternoon tea snacks and after dinner delights such as Sherry, red wine, beer, etc. with olives, munchies, crisps. Nearby many restaurants and Waxy (a bar nicely wooden carved arts everywhere, large, lively wit great music every day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

classic Scottish hotel centrally located

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: classic decor friendly staff good location free scotch clean
Our room was decorated in Scottish colors and was large and comfortable. The servi bar was free and we appreciated the beautiful decanter of scotch that was free as well. Breakfast is served in their restaurant on the top floor with lovely large windows overlooking the city. It was around the corner from the train station which was very handy for us as we were taking a train to Oban. Near Buchannan street- a lively shopping area and a block from the metro. We took the metro to Hillhead to eat at the Ubiquitous Chip. The metro only has one train line - so easy to navigate. We enjoyed our stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Glasgow near Queen Street station

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The location of this hotel was outstanding. We were able to do some shopping while there.
Cons: The executive club was a bit overused, and the hotel was somewhat worn.
Location: Outstanding location near shopping, train station, and other center city sites
We stayed two nights at the Carlton George in Glasgow as we transitioned to a new temporary appointment in the UK. The Carlton George offered a number of amenities including access to their executive club level and breakfast. The executive club was often very busy and the staff were not always able to keep up. The rooms were dated and slightly worn, but comfortable. The hotel is in a great location near shopping and transportation.