Ratings based on 725 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great hotel in a perfect location.

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Comfort, good food, wonderful views, and convenient shopping and sightseeing.
The rooms are luxurious and include a free, well-stocked mini-bar. The restaurant has large windows overlooking historic Glasgow buildings and the food is well prepared. The hotel is close to several shops and an attractive shopping mall.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great downtown location close to George Square

Posted Oct 10, 2017
This is a small hotel that is close to downtown historic sites. We unfortunately were in a room on the second floor overlooking the street, so Saturday night was not as good a sleep as we would of preferred. The lounge for appetizers was not well stocked so it was a nice room for visiting but not the usual quality of food that might be expected. We enjoyed our stay and suspect that it is a location that will get even better with time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Troutdale, Oregon

Carlton George Glasgow

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Good Location. Close to Transportation. Great Breakfast. Free mini Bar.
Location: Shopping, Dining, Tours
Best Hotel during 18 day European Vacation. Good Location. Close to Transportation. Great Breakfast. Free mini Bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Convenient small hotel in city center.

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Location and spacious room
Cons: Executive lounge standard could be improved
Location: Easy access to subway, main train station, and main bus stop. City main shopping area steps away.
Good convenient location with easy access to train and bus stations nearby. Small restaurant with limited menu, but meals were well cooked and presented at reasonable prices. Executive lounge could be improved with better snacks and drink selections. Room was spacious and well appointed; bath room clean; very Georgian.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great room at a great rate

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Well, the free mini-bar was pretty awesome.
Pretty good location on the edge of the old town. This made for quiet evenings. Immediately next door is a terrific restaurant & pub
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, USA

Excellent location and comfortable accomodations

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Can not think of anything we did not like from our room to Breakfast to its location or the staff's friendliness and cooperation.
Cons: Inform clients upfront about the prohibiion to driving up to the front of the hotel.
Location: Its in the very center of Glasgow with easy access to all this wonderful city has to offer.
Virtually all solid positives about this hotel, staff, room, restaurant and executive lounge. The only downside occurred as we were departing. The front desk heard me tell my wife that I would pick our car from the parking garage (4 blocks away) and pick her up out front. Something I had been doing once or twice a day (leaving or returning). I was advised that it was illegal and that I should expect an $80 fine for each incident. It would have been very considerate to have been notified upfront with the reservation confirmation that driving on that street was prohibited for cars and what best options exist for those guests with cars. Regardless, we would stay here again and do recommend it based on our overall experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Couldn't ask for a better location! Room was spacious and clean, free minibar was a nice bonus. This is a historic hotel that tries to blend old and new and does a great job.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Lovely hotel in perfect location

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, complimentary mini bar, rooftop restaurant, location.
Cons: Lack of a lounge area available to all guests - We knew executive lounge access only came with those rooms but expected an area for all.
Location: Waxy O'Connors next door with direct access from hotel - great pub, amazing fish & chips! Right in city centre, everything practically on the doorstep
We had a 2 night stay for the Great Scottish Run and this hotel is just steps from Queen Street rail station so perfect for quickly getting settled in the city. The small welcoming reception area with an open fire was the perfect introduction to the hotel and the friendliness of the reception staff immediately made us feel relaxed. We had a superior room which was stylish and very clean, the furniture was free standing and although a little past it's best really suited the room, nice touches include a light inside the wardrobe activated by opening and complimentary spirits in decanters with cut glasses for drinks. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. Lovely bright restaurant on the top floor with views across the city - breakfast selection very good with a la carte options too. The hotel rooms are around a square 'tunnel', our room was on the 3rd floor and there was a constant hum from what appeared to be the extractor system that we could see a couple of floors down - this wasn't particularly troublesome most of the time but I tend to wake through the night and at this time it seemed very noisy and stopped me getting back to sleep - we had no trouble getting to sleep initially & my partner (who doesn't tolerate noise at night very well) slept all night so this was only an issue for me. I would definitely book this hotel again but would opt for one of the rooms at the front of the hotel since waking at night is normal for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster

So close to shops, restaurants and train station

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff throughout
Cons: Wish we had had room at front of hotel
Location: Its location was perfect and bus from airport stops outside hotel. The bus from airport runs every ten to fifteen minutes and is 20 mins to city centr
We were exhausted on arrival after delayed flight so had room service food which was excellent and of course there was free mini bar including a red and white wine
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC Canada

Close to tour busses

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Other than a bit of rain nothing
Location: Glasgow Cathedral is awesome. Go to Waxys next door for an amazing pub experience. The food is excellent!
Love this hotel..quiet old school rooms and the staff were excellent. Cool places to check out within walking distance and close to train stations.