Ratings based on 1,794 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Student home change dash!

Posted Feb 24, 2018
Travelled up to move our daughter out of her current accommodation into a new arrangement. The hotel was fabulously convenient for the event, reception staff were marvellous and accommodate our early arrival. Room cleaning was not spectacular but acceptable. Running out of toilet paper is never a good thing though. The room was on the 5th floor and new, however the bathroom smelt of damp although nothing visibly wrong. Champagne bar was a nice find
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice Hotel with good location.

Posted Feb 22, 2018
Pros: The location for this hotel is amazing. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Room was very clean and had everything you would need.
Location: Local is great with proximity to Glasgow Central Station. Walking distance of shopping, food as well as tourist activities. Easy to access the city
Great hotel. Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Location is great next to Glasgow Central Station yet the hotel room is very quiet. In walking distance to many great areas for shopping, food, culture etc. It was a great place to stay especially with only a few days in the City. Hotel breakfast had great selection.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Very good hotel in a very good location. Close to

Posted Feb 20, 2018
A good experience in Gladgow. Enjoyed the city and went to a magnificent wedding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whitehaven

Great place to stay in Glasgow

Posted Feb 11, 2018
Friendly hotel with a great champagne bar. For the price a little more selection in the beverage tray in the room would be nice, and a pack of 2 small biscuits seems a bit of a scrimp
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2018 by Allan , Hotel Management
Dear Ian, Thank you for your four star review and I have noted for reference the comments on the biscuits and we will ensure there are more for your next visit. Please contact me directly prior to ensure they are personally arranged. Kind regards, Allan Wilson Director of Operations
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lanark

Wonderful location for central Glasgow

Posted Feb 10, 2018
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: As above
Surrounded by lovely restaurants and pubs. An eating and drinking experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2018 by Allan , Hotel Management
Dear Alex, Thank you for taking your valued time to complete your review where i look forward to welcoming you back personally in the near future. Kind regards, Allan Wilson Director of Operations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

My visit to Glasgow

Posted Feb 10, 2018
Pros: Its in a lovely central location and all the staff were good. Room was nice and comfy. Champagne Bar is a lovely place to relax and enjoy a drink.
Cons: Cold breeze in the restaurant at breakfast. I had to ask to be moved further away from the door. Room needed an info pack and more plug points.
A pleasant trip to Glasgow on business. The Grand Central is well placed for transport, bars and restaurants and is of a good standard - ideal for an overnight business stay. The Airport Bus is a must for £12 open ticket -Do not use the cabs!!! - and in 15 mins was dropped 100 yards from the Hotel. Very easy to find your way around Glasgow on foot and great to have a wander around to see the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2018 by Allan , Hotel Management
Dear Mike, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with Expedia! I am pleased to see you managed to have a wander around our great city with the hotels location ideal for this. We are delighted you had time to sample the Champagne Central and we hope you return soon to our lovely hotel and great city. best regards, Allan Wilson Director of Operations
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Great location

Posted Feb 9, 2018
The hotel overall was ok. Housekeeping I felt was a let down. I spent several nights at the hotel and felt that housekeeping could have done a better job maintaining my room. the morning breakfast was a little disappointing. The food was ok but the service at the buffet was poor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2018 by Allan , Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, Thank you for taking the time to complete your review and I will certainly ensure direct follow up with our respective areas of housekeeping and breakfast managers to ensure the fair and honest feedback is revisited to improve upon. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the near future to restore your faith. Kind regards, Allan Wilson Director of Operations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

City centre

Posted Jan 26, 2018
Arrived early for check in but wasn’t a problem the staff were very helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2018 by Allan , Hotel Management
Dear Ruth, Thank you for your warm and generous review of the Grand Central Hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Allan Wilson Director of Operations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Character hotel in heArt if the city

Posted Jan 25, 2018
The hotel is a grand hotel with original features the room I was allocated was a bit of a let down so I was alocated another room this one was certainly more spacious high ceiling etc there was only two small radiators in room and they were situated at the windows old sash windows in keeping with hotel but bit drafty thought I would have a nc bubble bath and relax only to find there was no bath in the room only shower in the room also you expect sum level of noise being in the city but a train had went through the building from very early hours in the morning there was a construction or demolition site street across from the room I was I. So no sleep thought I was going to take advantage of the late check how ever this did not happen felt quite exhausted I went dwn to reception and wen ask if they could help I explained about all the issues and that this was my first time staying in the hotel I was giving a full refund and hope that I would return hopefully I will .
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2018 by Allan , Hotel Management
Dear Karel, Thank you for sharing your review of your stay, and I am disappointed there was noise disruption in your time with us, however I am pleased to see our team used the freedom in a framework and arranged suitable changes. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future and seek to restore your faith. Kind regards, Allan Wilson Director of Operations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

grand old hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2018
Cons: a bit stingy with tea making items.
we were going to concert in Royal concert hall. reception staff efficient but that's all. restaurant staff very good and friendly. concierge friendly and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2018 by allan , Hotel Management
Dear Linda, Thank you for taking the time to compile your feedback from your stay. I am disappointed to see that you required more beverage items and we have noted this for your next visit if you let me know directly when you have booked so I can personally ensure so. Thank you for your kind and warm feedback of the restaurant team which we will ensure is forwarded to the team. I look forward to hearing from you in due course and again my sincere appreciation for the review. Kind regards, Allan Wilson Director of Operations