Ratings based on 856 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Aug 11, 2017
A really pleasant overnight stay. The staff at the front desk are helpful and friendly, the room is clean and tidy. With the holiday inn you can really see they've tried to make your stay as comfortable yet affordable as possible without skimping. Loved the range of pillows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

Quick service, excellent breakfast

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Cons: New beds
Location: Local pub next door was great!!
Clean room if a bit small for our needs (the pullout bed was almost too small for 2 people), and the beds need replacing, not as comfortable as they should be. Otherwise excellent staff, great price, breakfast was very good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Great Yarmouth

Average hotel with terrible services

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Our recent stay in the hotel for 3 nights has been the worst experience so far in any hotel in UK. Most of if it has to do with the disappointing breakfast service. This is the first time I found that the cutlery given during breakfast were filthy, not washed at all. To top it up, food was stale and pathetic. The hot chocolate through the machine only poure hot water for 2 days during my stay. Inspite of people complaining, hotel management did nothing to rectify it. With a brand of their reputation, I think it is highly unacceptable. The room was also was really cramped with no space to keep our luggage. The towels were not changed anytime during the whole stay. All in all a poor choice, so I would not recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Great Get Away

Posted Aug 1, 2017
My family visited Glasgow last week and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. The hotel was very conveniently located to many sites of interest including The People's Palace, shopping, and the museum of Modern Art. They were very accommodating for my father who has difficulty walking. The staff was friendly and would call taxi's when needed. Breakfast was hot and freshly made daily. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to return in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Catharines, Ontario

I would stay again.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Ideal location. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Comfortable beds. The air-conditioning worked well and was quiet. Room very quiet overall.
Cons: The breakfast buffet, which was bountiful, offers food that is full of sugar and fat. The buffet needed healthier options.
Location: The hotel is beside the banks of the Clyde River. The river walk is pleasant. Most touristy things are walkable or within a short bus ride's distance.
I stayed for 2 days in July 2017. My stay at this Holiday Inn was great. Although the hotel is located on a busy intersection, the room was quiet. (My room was on the 4th floor of the 5-story hotel.) Very central location. Can walk to the Glasgow Cathedral in about 15 minutes. Lots of restaurants nearby. Buses are within a 15-minute walk, including the bus to the airport which was a 30-minute ride to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Nice room, great breakfast, nice view, friendly staff, especially the breakfast set up staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel in a good location

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Nice Location. Easy to access to main attraction
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Good location but that's it.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Hotel staff are rude and unwelcoming. Check in was very cumbersome. Rooms are 2.5/5; we never felt the staff were friendly and made our stay comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Expedia.com needs to correct this listing

Posted Jul 5, 2017
I selected this motel based on reviews and the fact that the Expedia description listed "Laundry Facilities". There were no laundry facilities and that was very disappointing as we packed believing we would be doing laundry at various times. The motel "recommended" a local laundromat. However they neglected to say the facility was on some far away, awkward location, that it was extremely small and dirty and that you need to call ahead to make sure there is a machine available. Nothing like the American laundromat. In the end we were fortunate and made other arrangements to do our laundry. But this was horrid experience. Had I checked the Holiday Inn website I would have seen that there were no facilities to do laundry on site. So Expedia is partly to blame and I suppose I am as well for not researching better. I doubt the motel staff was aware of the condition of the laundromat, nor would they have sent us on the wild goose chase that it was, intentionally. Everything else about our stay was much better. The breakfast every morning was excellent. It is the same everyday, but it has enough variety in what is offered that you can find something different to eat daily if you wish. The room was clean and comfortable. Though smaller than what we get Stateside. It did have the hair dryer, iron and ironing board listed on Expedia. It also had a very nice shower and bathroom facilities. Motel staff were very friendly & helpful (other than the laundromat fiasco).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa florida

Never a let down

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Never a let down with the holiday inn! Friendly staff , tasty food, comfortable stay! Would recommend to anyone passing through Glasgow :)