Ratings based on 237 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from USA

Well, You're Staying in a ...CASTLE-_How Bout That

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: that it's a hotel and the staff was so nice.
Cons: Can't think of anything. It's a 140(??) year old castle so not super modern and doesn't have modern hotel amenities, but that's all good as long as yo
Location: Nice location but not much to get to w'o a car.
Had a great time relaxing in this castle. It's not a huge or ancient castle--but it's a castle. And very nice, very accomodating staff, all very relaxing and different experience. And great Scottish breakfast in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FALKIRK

Very swish 😉

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Hotel is lovely, breakfast was excellent, and the staff were fantastic. Executive double room was well furnished and spacious, however, slightly disappointed that it wasn't in the castle itself. Overall, very satisfied.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Old hotel, interesting building near train line.

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: It was easily accessed and made getting into and out of Glasgow easy. It was a lovely old building with a large comfortable room.
Cons: It was a very pleasant hotel stay and I would stay there again if and when I return to Glasgow.
Location: See above. Glasgow has many interesting museums and buildings.
This is a fascinating old building. The room was large and comfortable. Parking is great. It is only two or three blocks from the train into Glasgow, which is much better than driving in. It is an easy drive on and off the freeway. The staff were very pleasant and very helpful with directions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Last night in Scotland!

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Everything (especially the complimentary upgrade!)
Cons: Nothing that I'm aware of.
Of all the places we stayed during our 10 days in Scotland the Sherbrooke was the absolute best. (And we stayed in a few rather nice places, including the Scotsman in Edinburgh) Every member of the staff was beyond polite, friendly and accommodating. They could not do enough to help us feel both welcome and comfortable. In addition, the evening was gorgeous and our photos of the grounds and sunset were exquisite. What a way to end a trip at such a marvelous establishment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Beautiful hotel and very helpful staff.

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Clean and quiet.
Location: Easy to get around.
Great location out of the city but easy to get around. Staff was helpful and kind. Wish we could stay longer. Thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Little more like a house than castle

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Staff
Location: nothing really but the train station.
Beautiful place but looked very similar to a lot of the nice homes surrounding it. Our room was out of the main castle building but still very nice. Room looked onto the small garden but not much else. It took us a total of 5 minutes to walk around the entire estate. Breakfast was lovely and the staff was great. Not really close to anything but still a nice stay over if you need some place in Glasgow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Turret Room

Posted May 20, 2017
I stayed in one of the junior suites and found it very enjoyable. The hotel is a mix of old and new. My corner room had a nice view of the city lights. The mattress was quite old and the pillows were all quite flat. The shower started out great, but after a couple of minutes I lost my water pressure. The breakfast was very good with a nice selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, Ca. USA

Excellent hotel in a nice neighborhood.

Posted May 20, 2017
Our 1 bedroom suite was excellent. Room was clean, bathroom was large, and sitting room was nice. Not many restaurants within walking distance but I knew this when I booked the hotel. Came in contact with 6 staff members and all were polite, professional, and helpful. We ate at the hotel restaurant and our meal was good. I would recommend this hotel and stay here again.
5 out of 5
by stephen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not totally impressed

Posted May 16, 2017
Food was ok.. One thing really bugged me was the toilet seats. They are way too small for the bowl so every time you sat time your thighs just touching the ceramics bits where men would sometime dropped a few on. Totally gross. And this applies to most other toilets ( we have friends staying in other rooms) including the ones at the lobby.