Ratings based on 777 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Albert, Alberta

Charming Hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: The hotel was clean and the room was spacious. The breakfast provided lots of choice.
Location: Good location a block off a street which offered many restaurants.
The Victorian House was a charming hotel, with a great breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

An Oldy But A Goody

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: The front lobby, needs to be a little more inviting.
Location: Restaurants, transportation..
Don't judge by the old lobby area, it was just great, The receptionist was fabulous, daytime and evening, even to the point where she helped carry our luggage down the stairs, recommended a great restaurant for dinner "Butterfly and the ....." and sent us off to the Hop On .... Breakfast was perfect with lots of choices. Thanks again Sharon
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paphos, Cyprus

Central location

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Warm reception on arrival. Old building but cosy. Does need a makeover my room was very clean and comfortable and the shower was incredible. Breakfast was awesome. So much variety to suit everyone. Staff were friendly and courteous and hard working. Only real downside is that the hotel is on a hill with a steep walk up and down to the main area of the city.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BELFAST

Nice hotel, handy to City Centre

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: A well-run operation with good staff.
Location: Glasgow College of Art is very close-by and is worth a visit.
Our room on the first night was in the attic and was OK; but I decided on moving to a lower floor in the morning and there was no problem. A well-run operation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Worth the price...………(won't write more)…...……… good breakfast...………...………...………
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Antiques galore

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Decor
Location: Lobster at Hall's Harbour
Wonderful Victorian B&B with period furnishings - a real museum. Room was VERY large and comfortable. Jeremy was very accommodating about providing a gluten free breakfast.
3 out of 5
by Stewart

June 2017

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
everything was fine - not great but value for money - except there are 22 steps to the entrance and as we were on the third floor another 66 steps to our room. Not funny arriving with two heavy cases and two hand luggage. NO LIFT but it really needs one!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

4th time I've used this hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Good deal for the money
Cons: A lift would be nice but not possible as there are lots of steps
Location: 1 Mile from City Center with trains, buses and shopping
I complained about wifi and was moved to a room with fast connection. Full breakfast is nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wirral

Good position but in need of tlc

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Staff were decent. However no lift and lots of stairs to climb to the attic which is where I stayed. Not even an offer to take the bags up. Tea cups not washed but towels were swapped daily. The decor is in serious need of updating. That yellow paint on old wallpaper. Bed was comfortable and tidy. Breakfast was decent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was fine for what we needed. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast offered quite a lot of choice. Only one gripe, I left my electric toothbrush in the bathroom, which I noticed on reaching home some 6 hours later. When I phoned the hotel, no-one had seen it although the cleaner was just coming to our room as we left. Disappointing!