Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from shropshire

Beautiful old historical hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Romantic cosy warm friendly. Would definitely return. Breakfasts could be better. Fruit and muesli for example. Otherwise lovely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Glastonbury centre. perfect for the shops and a walk up the Tor.
Love this hotel . right in Glastonbury centre. Its really old with real wooden furniture. and real character and charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Second stay

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Great place to stay in Glastonbury yo either use s a place to explore the area or to simply enjoy the place itself. decent beer and ciders served and the food seemed to be well received. Looking forward to another visit soon. Very limited parking so make sure you have change for the pay and display at the back of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Lovely old building

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Right on the High Street, and close proximity to the Abbey, Chalice Well and the Tor, which was exactly what we came to see.
Cons: Exactly what was expected in a hotel this old, keep it as it is, part of it's charm.
Location: We just wanted to visit the Abbey, Chalice Well and the Tor which we did. That's as far as our knowledge of the area goes.
We did our research and knew exactly what to expect of a building this old. Lovely big room although the floor slanted! Very comfy bed and large bathroom. Plenty of mirrors which I appreciated. Breakfast was lovely, you could have what you wanted and it was plentiful. While it is doubtful we would visit Glastonbury again, if we did, we would definitely stay at the George and Pilgrim again, it would be our first choice. Staff were really friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient lication

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Loved everything. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly and more than helpful. We look forward to going back
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Pros: Nothing
It always seems when you book well in advance you get worse rooms. Do they save the best for passing trade? We asked to change our room (on the top floor) to a lower one, but was told by the young girl with her snooty nose in the air "This IS a four hundred year hotel, there are no lifts" That's not what we asked. Later we noticed people checking in after us on lower floors, we spoke to them, they had to same standard doubles and booked later than us. We travel through this area quite a lot, I am sure there are more accommodating than this place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

A trip back in time

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: The staff were friendly and the building is very nice.
Cons: The room was alright; the facilities were all right; the breakfast was all right. But nothing had any WOW! factor to it.
Location: Lots to do in Glastonbury, but a complete wilderness after sun down. Only one Italian restaurant and one Indian we could find. Needs more restaurants
Situated at the heart of Glastonbury, this building is stunning from the outside and looks like it should be a wonderful experience inside to. I just came away feeling generally underwhelmed by the experience. Everything is nice, but nothing makes you want to remember it as a classic hotel experience. It just feels like a pub with a couple of rooms over the top, which is exactly what it is. So I can't really complain. I don't feel down-hearted by the experience, just really...well...underwhelmed. Sorry to reiterate that word, but its the only one I can come up with. Am I glad I stayed there? Yes. Would I stay there again. Probably not.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Full of character

Posted Sep 23, 2015
No mod cons and the room leans but that is the point-great old fashioned stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from marlborough

Central in the town

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Pros: The historical details
Cons: It needs a good clean and polish. Old hotels just need to be sparkling clean.
Location: Perfectly located for the High Street and the sights
The hotel has a great history and is right in the middle of the town with a carpark behind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oldham

Ideal for a fuss free break

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Great character a little quirky but very comfortable. Staff absolutely fantastic