Ratings based on 731 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful grounds and hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: atmosphere
Cons: a little slow at the wheel. the service.
Location: lots of restaurants and stores
Had a great experience. The only thing was we asked for more towels and they never came.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Mould in bathrooms

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The classic beauty of a Georgian country home in the Existing non butchered front elevation ,beautifully shown on website,grounds very nice .
Cons: Just about everything,
Location: Somewhat isolated
I was hugely disappointed with the Mansion.The Mansion itself is poorly maintained. Paint peeling and wood rot on many of the exterior windows ,rusted ironwork on decorative balconies, etc..Many of the interior renovations can only be described as a butcher job as far as preservation of a historical landmark.The hotel rooms additions that we don't see from the front elevation have a hospital from the 80 s look and have no relationship to the beautiful Georgian mansion .The rooms are substandard at best. The bathrooms had a early motel aesthetic and had mould visible on ceiling wall corners and wall ceiling interface .A time bomb!The bathroom fan was not working nore was the one in my daughters room 2 rooms over this may be a design flaw or poor maintenanceThe bed though comfortable were made up with not only a duvet BUT the most horrific plush blanket in between the top sheet and duvet, when I removed it from the bed ,and I wished I had rubber gloves to do so ,(who knows what bacteria is in one of those things ),there were a series of small holes in it either moths or other bugs that like to chew on synthetics. The pillows were the kicker so flat lumpy and hard there were surely bricks in there left over from the renos.Now I understand why my relatives brought their own pillows. I asked for bath robes as there were none in the room and was brought bath towels. So much for the luxury appointments you expect in a luxury hotel. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Outstanding character, absolutely beautiful surroundings. The food was excellent and staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
The setting was very relaxing and pretty. The grounds were very well kept and the hotel quiet. We liked the location near Oyster Bay and President Theodore Roosevelt's home at Sagamore Hill. The staff was friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, Maryland

Not happy

Posted Aug 27, 2017
The staff needs to learn how give appropriate information when the customer is checking in. I was told $50 would be charged for incidentals but $316 was charged. The staff in the pub was slow to wait on us so we left.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Beautiful grounds

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Overall a nice experience. Good price. Furniture outdated and falling apart, need some updating. Dining experience at their pub was just ok. Breakfast was excellent and priced well for the area. The front desk was very curious, nice and quick. We arrived earlier than check in time and they accommodated us very efficiently. We will stay again and recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Italy.

Would stay again.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The look of it. Friendly staff. Comfy bed and quiet room.
Cons: A free bus shuttle to the subway!
Location: Didn't get the chance to explore.
Really enjoyed the hotel. We were here for 2 nights, room was lovely, beds comfy, nice bathroom. Pools looked nice and upstairs bar made us burgers really late at night. The hotel is vibrant and full of stuff happening but it didn't bother us at all in our room, we were not disturbed by the event that was going on on the Saturday.It is quite a treck to NYC from Glen Cove... a $64 Uber to get to Central Park and $81 back. Trains and busses were inconvenient and expensive for 4 people so Uber won. I would definately like to stay here again, if I get the chance to be in the area again, which by the way looked nice and quiet, residential, but we didn't get the chance to explore Glen Cove as we had no time to spare, shame.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington Onatario

Beautiful Facility

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Excellent value and a fabulous hotel and grounds! Staff was helpful and accomadating! I would recomend Glen Cove to anyone looking for an upscale ecperince at a reasonable price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melville, NY

Beautiful Grounds, Lovely Staff, Horribly Outdated

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Our stay for our wedding night was great. The staff was courteous and friendly and the grounds are stunning. However, our room was a very far walk from the from entrance and we were never told how to park closer to our room. Also, the part of the hotel we stayed in was horribly outdated. I wouldn't call the place dirty but it definitely was dingy. I had hoped for a better experience but for the location, it was our best option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice Grounds

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Cons: Better signage in the hallways. It was very easy to get lost.
Very nice and quiet. Bring your tennis racket. Also nice workout facility inside the hotel with a indoor pool,