Ratings based on 702 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice hotel, beautiful property

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The hotel itself is just 'good'. Rooms are a little worn. However, the property and grounds, particularly in summer, are beautiful. The hotel, converted from a Gold Coast Mansion has that Great Gatsby feel and a lot of character. Really nice to have coffee on the patio with a distant view of the Long Island sound over the manicured lawns.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great getaway

Posted Jul 5, 2017
We had a very nice stay at the mansion, pool area and grounds are amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Awesome Stay! Nice clean Rooms!

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Hotel staff was Great! Really enjoyed our stay. Overall Great experience. Plan to Book again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Convenient

Posted Jun 28, 2017
We chose this hotel as it was close to a family get together. The grounds are very nice. The staff was very nice. The inside of the hotel was very worn. The beds were very hard, as were the pillows. With some sprucing up, this could be a magnificent venue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fort myers

Beautiful place!!

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Indoor pool was amazing!! We loved it! Ordered food from local restaurant & was delivered directly to our room. So easy! The grounds are beautiful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Nice and elegant stay

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Royal ambience. Big property. Full of trees and plants. Well maintained pool. Well connected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Good value

Posted Jun 4, 2017
For the price, it's hard to beat. The grounds are amazing. The rooms are dated but clean. The staff was friendly but not so helpful. The layout of the place is insane, and the signage was of little help.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Clair Shores, MI

Pretty on the Outside...not so much on the inside

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Main building is beautiful and the reason we booked there in the first place. Too bad for the bait and switch :(
Cons: Almost everything from the desk staff (with the exception on the woman who checked us in. She was very friendly and helpful) to the rooms.
Location: The neighborhood is fantastic (a lot like my home neighborhood). I wouldn't advise going to Woodbury Commons from here, the tolls are outrageous.
I booked this hotel because it was so beautiful on the website and because of its location. Everything was fine until we checked in. The room was not in the Mansion itself but a building behind it. The Mansion was beautiful but the building that housed the other rooms was more like a motel (and definitely not any place I would EVER have chosen to stay). Our room was in what felt like the basement (we had to walk two flights downstairs with our luggage and my daughter is pregnant.) The cleaning was subpar and we had to move to a new room because it smelled like smoke (it's a non-smoking hotel), there was obscene confetti on the carpet, and the maintenance fellow was working on the windows when we walked in. The room we moved to had a broken toilet that would not flush AND to top it all off, I put the do not disturb sign on the door because I don't like people in my room while I'm away, so the cleaning people took it off and went in and cleaned the room anyway. Terrible experience and not worth a fraction of what I paid for it. :(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CK San Juan Capistrano CA

At home in The Mansion

Posted Apr 26, 2017
I love the comfortable atmosphere in The Mansion. I thoroughly enjoy the beauty of the grounds, and especially like all of the chandeliers. I always enjoy the breakfast in the dining room, and a nightcap in the Pub. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. To me The Mansion feels like you are visiting friends or family. I LOVE IT😍
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2017 on Hotels