Ratings based on 472 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washingrton state

We had a fabulous time at gauge house

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Zero
Location: Very small town quiet relaxing. cute restaurants nice people
This place is a five star not a four-star. Lots of spaces to go and she'll read a book relax swim anything you want. Staff was fabulous room was wonderful can't say enough good things about it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Grove, IL

Wonderful Surprise

Posted Sep 14, 2017
This was our first experience at doing a B&B and we were in for a treat. After 2 nights in Napa, we came to Sonoma and found this wonderful place in Glen Ellen. We we booked outside of the main building into what might have been a pool house at one time. I was a bit concerned that its location next to the in-ground swimming pool was going to be an issue, but it was not in any way. The room was spacious and had everything that we needed. We arrived before the room was ready, but when we returned after a drive to a winery, we found our back neatly placed in our room and felt right at home. They had wine "Happy Hour" in progress with several complimentary wines being served and a room of friendly guests chatting. The morning breakfast was very nice and a treat after the expensive breakfasts in San Francisco. We definitely enjoyed ourselves and would recommend it to friends - and we'll come back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

Nice B&B in Glen Ellen (Sonoma County)

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Well appointed room with nightly Wine & Cheese gathering to allow you to share experiences with other guests and to preview wines from different wineries each night. T he breakfast buffet is gourmet quality and plentiful. The cookies on the sidebar at the entrance are a nice touch. The property is not in a location conducive to walking (no sidewalks) and there a few good restaurants close by It is convenient to a number of activities in Sonoma County.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Wish we got the room we booked ...

Posted Sep 10, 2017
After checking your web site I realized we booked a King Deluxe room but actually received a Queen room... that's really disappointing because we loved the hotel and the staff a lot. I see we should have received a room w a king bed and outdoor space, instead we had room 4 which was nice but not what we booked. I wish I realized this while there but my husband who booked it ... didn't realize it either until now ... and the disappoint has set in. The staff otherwise was great and the amenities are fabulous. Still upset up the room and should not have left it up to him, but we should have received what we initially booked not sure what happened here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco, ca

Small hotel in glen Ellen

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Had a room with queen bed near the pool. Room was ok, furniture a little old, near stairs and could hear people walking up to house. Pool was nice with a deep end. Unless you book rooms with their private gardens then there is not much of the beautiful zen gardens you see posted. Those gardens are for individual rooms with their private garden which have high bamboo covering. The cookies are excellent and the afternoon wine and cheese event is great. The breakfast is also a highlight with the quiches and soufflés. Recommend trying room with garden attached for better experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, Ma

Staff made the difference !!

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Lots of expertise and friendliness offered from the staff at Gaige - highly recommend if you are staying in Sonoma !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Beautiful Room

Posted Aug 3, 2017
We stayed in Room 1. It was very spacious with quaint and carefully selected furniture. The walls were highlighted by interesting and clever hangings. The very best part: the bathroom. The bathroom was huge. The sink was classy and the tub/spa/ wonder shower was double-cartwheel -cool. Easily big enough for two, the bathtub had every feature for spa relaxation. It was superb. Equaling exception was the personalized service provided by the reception staff (Crystal especially). The staff seamlessly supported our unique situation with beyond-the-job-description care. Bravo! This is a great place to stay. We will be coming back. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Cozy home away from home

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: The breakfast, the rom, the staff
Location: Wine tastings, live music, restaurants, shopping
This hotel was a wonderful place to stay. Friendly and helpful staff, the breakfast was outstanding (I even bought the cookbook they sell with meals they prepare). The room was spacious and the bathroom amazing. Wine tastings every day in the lounge. Fresh home made cookies daily. Free wine tasting besides the daily visit from wineries. The pool and the grounds were really beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B in the heart of Sonoma Valley

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Great location and, generally a nice place. Our room needed a paint job, though. And the towels were clean, but gray/white, instead of white. The bed was great, and we had our own private patio. The patio could stand a thorough cleaning. Breakfast was better than average for a B&B, and the daily wine and cheese Happy Hour was a nice treat. The staff was courteous and professional, and made helpful suggestions for daily activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super relaxing environment

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Location: Quiet, soothing location. Eat at the Glen Ellen Star.
This hotel is so comfortable and feels so luxurious. Love the pool, love everything about it.