Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The stay that never was

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: They made sure we had a room somewhere for the night. Many would say that is the least you could expect when you are clutching an email from Expedia.
Cons: The booking connection between this hotel and booking agent Expedia? We simply did not get what we booked.
Location: Glencoe, village, stunning loch and mountain views, Rannoch Moor and Glencoe mountains.....
Tricky! Booked superior triple room using Expedia on 22nd June. Paid for same day - XXX pounds without breakfast - can't post roomrates. We arrived at teatime on 15th July but the hotel said it had no record of any booking for us. This was inconvenient, but I had an email from Expedia confirming my booking on 22nd June. After an hour or so, during which we were offered refreshments, we were given a room at Bridge of Orchy. This was not suitable because we needed to be in Glencoe the next morning. I could not really be expected to go all that way to be inconvenienced again. We had a car with us, so offers of staff lifts etc would not have been useful. They gave us a room at The Onich Hotel, a few miles along the loch, across a bridge, along the loch on the other side (wrong direction for planned visits the next day). The Onich Hotel was perfectly nice, but not what we booked (a superior triple with mountain view). A booking email from Expedia = your booking. You are told there is no need to check it with the hotel. The previous night (lovely hotel in Tyndrum) had been booked through Expedia at the same time as THIS abortive booking, and was as smooth an experience as could be. It is a real puzzle. I accept that, eventually, the manager tells me it must have been their fault, but it was inconvenient and embarrassing. Difficult to not rate here, but we were disappointed. All well in the end (beds), but not convenient or inspiring confidence in system. That's it. Cannot rate.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice visit to Glencoe

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Area
Cons: Bed
Location: Not much at all to do nearby, just enjoy the scenery!
Glencoe is a very picturesque village, and our hotel was quite nice. The staff were friendly and efficient, the food was excellent, our room was very tiny, the beds was not very comfortable but it was quite clean! Gorgeous scenery!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malibu, California

Very good location. The staff was very helpful.

Posted Jun 27, 2017
We had a great time exploring Scotland and feel fortunate to have gotten a room during the busy season. Very good breakfast was included in the room rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay in the area.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Hadn't expected too much from previous reviews. Needed a hotel for an overnight stay in the area and it far exceeded our expectations. Lovely 4 person room at back of hotel so no traffic noise and great views from bedroom windows great breakfast included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New England

Great place close to the village.

Posted May 31, 2017
The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The Glencoe Gathering, a connected restaurant, was excellent as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017
The hotel staff were excellent very helpful and pleasant. It is situated in a beautiful location amongst the mountains and the water
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: They offered French toast for breakfast.
Location: Beautiful area
Clean, friendly staff, good breakfast. The restaurant next door had decent food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheshire uk.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Ok for a couple of nights. Bit functional & tired & abut noisy. The shower was temperamental & had poor pressure. However, everywhere was very clean & tidy & staff friendly & helpful, though the service at breakfast was a bit slow due to there only being one waitress on duty. That's a management issue though, she was not at fault & was cheerful & professional.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Staff were exceptionally friendly.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
I would so much love to give this hotel a 5 star rating because the staff were so friendly and welcoming, but I just can't. I think I stayed in one of the smallest rooms in Scotland. Considering I booked the cheapest room available, I shouldn't be surprised. The room was very clean but the size would be difficult for more than one person traveling. I was solo so it was not an issue for me. The bathroom served it's purpose but the water pressure was almost non existent. Therefore, it took much longer to shower in the coffin size space than was necessary. There were nice toiletries available and again, everything was very clean. But the major drawback was that the entire room would shake when a vehicle would drive by out front. Which was all day and well into the night, then starting again at 6am. And the room was set back from the road. I'm from Southern California, land of earthquakes, and when I say shake, I mean shake. If you are awake early this may not be a problem.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from e.g., ALABAMA

Not as glamous as the pic shows

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Room smelled of chemicals used to install a linulium floor. Had a VERY strong chemical oder. Pub is not attached to Hotel like the picture makes you think, its separated with a different outside entrance and the pub often times closes too early. Hotel staff was nice and friendly and breakfast was really good except it took over 30min after we ordered. All in all, i wont be back, I would stay elsewhere.